We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place Has A Monopoly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Space Age Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've stayed here numerous times over the years on the way back and forth from Tucson, Arizona to southern California. And that's why everybody either stays here, stops here, or eats here. It's about the only place in the small town of Gila Bend to do any of the above. It's one hundred sixteen miles from Tucson and another hundred plus from Yuma. The rooms are costly for what you get. In May of 2012 it cost $152.52 fpr one room. But then you don't have any other choice. The space age theme in the restaurant is entertaining, but the food is very basic, and the service isn't consistent and can be very slow. They still have box air-conditioner units high up on the wall. At least they work. It's also nice that the place is 100% pet-friendly.

Room Tip: They're all on the ground floor. But the best rooms are closest to the check-in desk. They'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Space Age Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff here at Space Age we would like to send our apology for not meeting your expectations. We will take your comments/concerns into consideration to help us improve great customer service. We hope you will give us another chance to better serve you. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact us @ 928-683-2273 or email: 03004@hotel.bestwestern.com



Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 285 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice clean place, great pillow top mattresses and nice comfy sheets on the beds.
Nice larger NEWER FLAT SCREEN HIGH DEF TV's a big plus at this hotel as well.

Hotel is close to train tracks but not that bad.....take some ear plugs......I always do regardless of where the
The hotel is located and regardless of city it is located in.

The hotel restaurant also Very decent Cafe type of place.

I would def stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Largeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Space Age Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

On behalf of the enitre team, we would like to thank you for your comments, We are pleased to hear your visit with us is a memorable one. Hope to see you again in the future.

Salena Cipriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's a cute little motel with a space-age theme and located in an area with very few other lodging options, but the train tracks are so close that it sounds and feels like the train is running right through your room. The included breakfast in the adjacent restaurant is a good value.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KrMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Space Age Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

On behalf of the entire team here at Space Age would like to thank you for your comments and concerns. Your are helping us provide great customer service by letting us know how we can make improvements. We hope we will visit us again soon. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to call @ 928-683-2273 or email: 03004@hotel.bestwestern.com


Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room was comfortable, beds especially. Ask for a room not right on the tracks as trains come through regularly. We bought ear plugs at nearby Dollar store and so, were fine! Cooked to order breakfast was a real treat.

Room Tip: Away from train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMGIRL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment you see the property the Space theme is readily apparent. The lobby roof is shaped like a flying saucer and the inside is decorated with space pictures and murals. The rooms are comfortable and decorated again in a space theme. The service was outstanding as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good as this lodge is on one level and most rooms face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikes737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was built in 1964,the rooms are small but very clean, showers work ok has flat screen TV. The maids will do your laundry, there is no laundry mat in the town and no grocery stores either. The restaurant attached to the hotel is ok but the menu is very short and not very imaginative. Bring your books playstation or whatever because there is nothing to do here.
The only gripe I have with this motel are the rates. they are very jacked up for what you are getting and there is no weekly rate for construction workers even though that is mostly who is staying there. I was told that why should I care my company is paying for it, thats not the case but you can't convince them otherwise, if there were any other place to stay that was even remotely clean I would be there, but the other motels appear to be almost in ruins they are so decrepit. there is a Burger King in Gila Bend and a Mcdonalds Thats it.......

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway with a train track behind the building, a train goes by approximately eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room was clean, service was good. Average size room, internet worked good. Train does come buy but I was so tired it never woke me up. Room was $130 for three people, with a $10 dollar per person coupon to their restaurant. Restaurant is clean, service was friendly, but the food was terrible. How do you screw up an ommlette and hash browns? By putting cutting up sandwich slices of ham in it insteads of nice size chuncks. The hashbrowns were so greasy none of us could eat them, and I love hash browns. Avoid eating there even though it's free!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Space Age Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

DEAR WSCHWARZ,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Best Western Space Age lodge/Restaurant sincerly apologize for not exceeding your expectations for breakfast. We will be taking your comments into consideration to help us improve our establishment.


Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Space Age Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Space Age Lodge

Address: 401 East Pima Street, Gila Bend, AZ 85337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Gila Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Price Range: $106 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Space Age Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Space Age Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Space Age Hotel Gila Bend
Best Western Gila Bend
Gila Bend Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing