We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitschy Charm, Good Breakfast, Loud Trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Space Age Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kitschy Charm, Good Breakfast, Loud Trains”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's a cute little motel with a space-age theme and located in an area with very few other lodging options, but the train tracks are so close that it sounds and feels like the train is running right through your room. The included breakfast in the adjacent restaurant is a good value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KrMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at Space Age would like to thank you for your comments and concerns. Your are helping us provide great customer service by letting us know how we can make improvements. We hope we will visit us again soon. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to call @ 928-683-2273 or email: 03004@hotel.bestwestern.com


Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    61
    20
    6
See reviews for
72
100
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room was comfortable, beds especially. Ask for a room not right on the tracks as trains come through regularly. We bought ear plugs at nearby Dollar store and so, were fine! Cooked to order breakfast was a real treat.

Room Tip: Away from train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMGIRL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment you see the property the Space theme is readily apparent. The lobby roof is shaped like a flying saucer and the inside is decorated with space pictures and murals. The rooms are comfortable and decorated again in a space theme. The service was outstanding as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good as this lodge is on one level and most rooms face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikes737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was built in 1964,the rooms are small but very clean, showers work ok has flat screen TV. The maids will do your laundry, there is no laundry mat in the town and no grocery stores either. The restaurant attached to the hotel is ok but the menu is very short and not very imaginative. Bring your books playstation or whatever because there is nothing to do here.
The only gripe I have with this motel are the rates. they are very jacked up for what you are getting and there is no weekly rate for construction workers even though that is mostly who is staying there. I was told that why should I care my company is paying for it, thats not the case but you can't convince them otherwise, if there were any other place to stay that was even remotely clean I would be there, but the other motels appear to be almost in ruins they are so decrepit. there is a Burger King in Gila Bend and a Mcdonalds Thats it.......

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway with a train track behind the building, a train goes by approximately eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room was clean, service was good. Average size room, internet worked good. Train does come buy but I was so tired it never woke me up. Room was $130 for three people, with a $10 dollar per person coupon to their restaurant. Restaurant is clean, service was friendly, but the food was terrible. How do you screw up an ommlette and hash browns? By putting cutting up sandwich slices of ham in it insteads of nice size chuncks. The hashbrowns were so greasy none of us could eat them, and I love hash browns. Avoid eating there even though it's free!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
DEAR WSCHWARZ,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Best Western Space Age lodge/Restaurant sincerly apologize for not exceeding your expectations for breakfast. We will be taking your comments into consideration to help us improve our establishment.


Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Getting off the freeway I was a bit uncertain, but the drive had been long and we really needed to stop for the night. What a great surprise! The hotel was very quirky and fun, the room was clean and very inviting. There is a train in back, but even a light sleeper like me was able to sleep through it. And sleep well I did - the bed was extremely comfortable.

We had breakfast next door at the restaurant and it was a blast! The waitress said that the chef had worked there many years - which was obvious by the care he put into the food. The coffee was fresh and hot. I had the flying saucer pancakes and (shhhhhhhh!) they were even better than the ones dad used to make on Sunday mornings! The eggs were cooked to perfection.

The whole experience was fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Found this place via Tripadvisor and thought I'd give it a whirl. Really glad I did. Rooms very clean, comfortable and spacious. The only downside were a few flies, which is just part of this area of the State - and nothing a quick whack with a swatter (provided) didn't put right.

Great value for the level of comfort, and $10 vouhers per person provided for breakfast in the Space Age Restaurant next door - ample for a filling breakfast, freshly cooked, and with no $$ to pay on top. Far better than any breakfast I've had at a Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn.

Give it a whirl, you wont be disappointed.

Lovely staff too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff we would like to thank you for your great review. By your review you are helping us provide great customer service for our future guest. Once again thank you for your ratings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Space Age Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Space Age Lodge

Property: Best Western Space Age Lodge
Address: 401 East Pima Street, Gila Bend, AZ 85337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Gila Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Space Age Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Space Age Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Space Age Hotel Gila Bend
Best Western Gila Bend
Gila Bend Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing