We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting course”

Desert Canyon Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Interesting course”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lots of up and down challenges on this lovely course. It is built in the middle of town so you also get to see the gorgeous homes surrounding the course. The clubhouse has a great patio bar to enjoy drinks and decent food. Not to be missed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanAndOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful course!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I didn't golf, I just rode along. It was very scenic! We were there on St. Pat's Day, and we did git a glimpse of the Fountain Hills Fountain as it turned green at noon. The staff in the pro shop, bar & on the course were all very nice. The pro on the 1st tee was very informative about the course. The beverage cart girls were great and the one that was on the course came around several times. My friends that golfed said that this course was the 2nd best course they had golfed on that week out of several. They said they would go back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollysgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice course and people”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Played there on Super Bowl Sunday. The staff were wonderful and we had a great time. Some holes were extremely hard and others not so much, but in all the course was fun and we would enjoy playing again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KDellsperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not a Course for the Serious Golfer”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First the positives -- nice views, very friendly and helpful staff. According to my wife, friendly to the ladies. Our tee time was 11:37 but we didn't tee off until 11:55. From there we played in the course recommended time of 4 hrs 15 min although we waited on almost every shot. As a somewhat serious and fairly competent golfer, for me, this course was a bit mickey mouse at times and the fairways were in poor shape. Too many thin lies. The greens were in much better condition and rolled true but not enough to offset the fairways. The price is reasonable but this course is way down on my list for a return trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt and Gwynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice course”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very pretty course. A bit hilly, kind of tough for an average woman golfer. Had to use cart paths, so did a lot of walking. Got a special, and was told that they are the most reasonable during prime time. Made reservations thru Golf Now. Check it out. Staff was wonderful!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Canyon Golf Club also viewed

Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Canyon Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing