We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee and prices”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mountain View Coffee Company
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee and prices”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Such a nice place to grab a cup and scone, or take your coffee outside and read the paper. Service is non rushed in a good way.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dallstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Geriatric central!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I don't get this place! Has such potential, but the owners are clueless! They have a beautiful oven they don't use, yet buy there food from Costco and try to pass it off as "homemade". The coffee was "ok" nothing close to a true European espresso, as MV coffee has a bitter after taste. Good selection of teas, but the price is ridiculous. Food selection is horrendously awful!! Why are they still in business??

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RockinMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A 'Fired' Customer Comments....”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Full Disclosure: I was fired today from Mountain View Coffee. As an employee? Nope, as a near daily, year-long customer who dropped $7-$10 per day and always tipped - interesting, huh? I'll nevertheless attempt to be balanced here.

Pros: Charming, cozy surroundings, good espresso, a few very tasty home-baked items made by personable, hardworking young staff members. Male co-owner also unfailingly friendly, great with customers and staff.

Cons: Food overpriced - particularly the baked goods from Costco. Lunch sandwiches made from scratch but overpriced ($7.25 for egg salad, really?) Worst Con: Female owner with astonishingly bad attitude. Openly chastises her employees, is suspicious of customers, incredibly stingy, and, as another patron observed, creates an "unpleasant, negative atmosphere."

Why was I fired? For having the temerity to complain. This woman appears to dislike feedback of any kind, but an actual complaint sends her reeling. One day recently when I mentioned my "loyalty card" (buy 10, get one free) had not been stamped earlier, she gave me a distinct "you're lying" look. I asked to speak with her today and explained hat her reaction of mistrust offended me. When I further observed that she seemed to trust no one, her response was, "I don't". Wow! Great attitude for a down-home coffee shop owner.

Bottom line - nice place, but keep any observations, complaints or even constructive feedback or suggestions to yourself. And whatever you do, don't ask for your loyalty card to be stamped.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Enjoyed coming by here on my walk down to the fountain and around the perimeter. It has comfy inside seating and ample outdoor seating overlooking the fountain. The coffee was excellent. They just introduced their newest blend, "Mountainview" and it was delightful. I didn't even need sugar added to it.. a rich blend with no bitterness. They also give you a password for wifi, so that was helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We walked over from our hotel for a cup of coffee. It was great. They have all kinds of the usual coffee concoctions as well as smoothies. Smoothies are made with real fruit and mine was very good. We ended up having a chicken salad sandwich one afternoon and it was very exceptional! They have indoor seating as well as outdoor. Lots of people around the vicinity with dogs because of the fountain park so the restaurant has a bowl of water at the outside seating. Very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonwithhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Coffee Company also viewed

Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 

Been to Mountain View Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing