We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service still needs work”
Review of Sapori D'italia

Sapori D'italia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sapori D'Italia brings a piece of Italy to Fountain Hills, AZ. Enjoy some of the finest Italian dishes prepared from our kitchen to your table. Everything is made from scratch, including our mozzarella and pasta. We use only the highest quality ingredients such as flour and tomatoes imported from Naples.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, service still needs work”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had seen the episode of Restaurant Impossible for this restaurant, so when visiting AZ, we decided to give it a try.We got to the restaurant at about 4:30pm, which is about 30 min. before they take food orders. The person that greeted us (which we found out is an owner) said we could sit outside if we wanted & we could have a drink & wait for dinner. We had a nice table outside for a party of five. The owner came to visit with us, we told her we had seen the TV show & she talked about the experience. We enjoyed talking with her & she was very friendly. One of the problems on the show was the service. Our waitress (don't think she ever told us her name) was very impersonal and acted in the beginning as if it were a big inconvenience to wait on us. We all ordered different entries & the food was very good. One person in our party ordered bow tie pasta & didn't get their food until the rest of us were almost finished with our meal. When the waitress brought the late order, she said sorry, they didn't have that pasta cooked up. We felt perhaps there should have been some sort of adjustment or free dessert for that person....NO. Another employee came after we had eaten most of our meal and asked us if we wanted grated parmesan, we kind of chuckled and said, not now--waitress never asked us. The person that took our plates away (server from Minnesota) after our meal was very frendly. The desserts we ordered were very good. We could easily see why this restaurant ended up on the show Restaurant Impossible. They need to go back & see what Robert said about SERVICE!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyann70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    36
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had actually watched an episode of Restaurant Impossible about this restaurant and since we were visiting the area decided to stop for dinner. The atmosphere was lovely, the staff attentive, the food delicious. We did not have reservations for a Friday evening (I would encourage reservations) so we did have a bit of a wait, but that was fine. We ate on the patio, but the heaters kept us quite comfortable. I had the shrimp which was very good, my husband enjoyed the spagetti and our friends loved the pizza. The bread was very good. We hope the restuarant continues to do well. They are working hard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Another couple along with my wife and I decided to give this "renewed" restaurant a try. We were very pleased with the food, the service and the price. However, we sat in the area, which would normally be outside, but was enclosed at the time by some awful looking plastic drapes (they even look worse from the road). It was a chilly evening and they had all of the heaters going. It was so hot that it was very uncomfortable not only for us but for all of the guests. We would return, but would not recommend this part of the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Upgraded decor by Rest. Impossible very nice”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited on a very busy, noisy Saturday night. They were short staffed because of sickness & apologized over & over for being served so slowly. Our requested pastas were all mixed up with our particular entrees but we did not mind as was delicious. We will try again but not on a Saturday night. Be sure to make a reservation & verify before you hang up!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went with a party of 10 on a Saturday nite. warmly greeted and our server was prompt and our drinks came quickly. Dinner was very good. 2 couples in our party insisted on seperate checks and our server wad glad to accomadate us. Our food orders came to our table with no mistake. Will happily be back again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapori D'italia also viewed

Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sapori D'italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing