We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat for my wife and I!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CopperWynd Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fountain Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Blacklick, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent retreat for my wife and I!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Copperwynd and attending a friends wedding and reception on grounds. Our room was wonderful with a great view of the valley! Having the spa within the main building and golf options so close by were a definite bonus. Plenty of additional options within 30 minutes of resort if you feel like getting out and about for food, shopping or activities. We will most definitely stay at the Copperwynd Resort in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyled46, Front Office Manager at CopperWynd Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Arthur,
Thank you so much for the review. We are so glad you and your wife were able to stay with us and enjoy your retreat with us. We would love to have you back, please contact us directly for the lowest available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    65
    27
    17
    11
See reviews for
52
164
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had the absolute pleasure of spending a wonderful four days at the Copperwynd Resort with my wife for a brief respite from the winter blahs. A small intimate resort with every room offering stunning and breathtaking view of the Valley of the sun. Words do not describe the awe and beauty of the natural setting of this fantastic resort. Waking up every morning to the sun cresting over the mountains was worth the trip alone. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with all the amenities one needs. Bathroom had separate tub shower which I really prefer. Grounds were immaculate and manicured beautifully. Pool was ideal for beating the heat and of course heated to the perfect temperature, made for great lounging and just whiling away the day. We booked a wonderful meal at Alchemy the restaurant attached to the resort and were lucky to get an amazing table on the patio overlooking the mountains, a sumptuous meal with an incredible view – could not have asked for anything more. I know some criticism of the resort is their lack of breakfast options but a short drive away into Fountain Hills and there are two great breakfast places DJ Bagels and Flapjacks both worth a try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtechers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyled46, Front Office Manager at CopperWynd Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Travelingtecher247,
Thank you for the very nice write up. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We do get some get sunrises here, rising over the Four Peaks Mountains. We hope the addition of the Barista which is open 7 days a week will fill the void on site for breakfast. The Barista will offer freshly brewed coffees, lattes, smoothies, Danish, bagels, muffins, breakfast sandwiches, along with pre-made salads and sandwiches. We hope to have you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Fl
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

no room service - Restaurant closed Sunday & Monday - have to drive to restaurants near by - asked for Baileys in restaurant instead of telling me they didn't have Baileys they made it with Irish whiskey and cream - nothing like baileys - can't charge anything to room. requested king room got 2 queen. nice view, clean.

Was there for meeting and we were to have breakfast for group 2 days. 1st day they didn't have anyone there - second day was 1 1/2 hours late.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyled46, Front Office Manager at CopperWynd Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
BNE1,
Thank you for the review. Our apologizes that not all of our facilities were fully operational during your stay. Our restaurant Alchemy is closed on Sunday and Mondays. The items mentioned have been noted and addressed with the restaurant to see it does not happen in the future. We hope you folks had productive meetings while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Me
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent resort and we will definitely stay there again. The rooms were immaculate and the views stunning. I can't say enough about how relaxing this resort was. The pool (the no kids one was a bonus), the balcony in our room and the Alchemy Restaurant were awesome! Our waiter (JR) was very professional and made our evening dinners that much more enjoyable. The facility is off the beaten path but that's what we wanted...all stores and shops are within a 5-10 minute drive.
If you stay here go to Fountain Hills Bikes and ask for Doug (owner)...he rented us some mountain bikes and it was a blast! His customer service was awesome.

Room Tip: second level rooms offer best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyled46, Front Office Manager at CopperWynd Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
MaineFolks,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. JR is a wonderful asset to the restaurant and are happy he was able to wait on you during dinner service. The resort is centrally located to a number of different hiking and biking trails and are happy to hear Doug at Fountain Hills Bikes took great care of you. Please visit us back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

One of the best resorts that I have ever stayed at! From check in to check out the front desk couldn't be nicer. The only issue we had was a broken mirror in the bathroom but after I notified the front desk they fixed it immediately.

Views are great and the trails really give you a nice workout. Grocery stores are close to resort so make sure to stock up on snacks. Lobby does have a nice little coffee shop that has some snacks as well.

If your looking for a peaceful getaway this is your place!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cjpoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyled46, Front Office Manager at CopperWynd Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
cjpoty,

Thank you for the review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the service we provide our guest. I am sorry to hear about the broken mirror in the room, and I am glad we were able to remedy the issue in the timely manner for you. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City CO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife surprised me with a quick trip to the Copperwynd for our anniversary. It was a very nice resort that was very quiet. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the views were awesome. This is not a mega resort, so if that is what you are looking for, this is not the place. There are only 40 +\- rooms, so it is very quiet and peaceful.

We had dinner at Alchemy and the food and service were great. The only drawbacks are that you cannot do room charges for anything and there are limited dining options. There are grocery stores nearby as well as Starbucks, so the limited dining was not really an issue for us. There were refrigerators in the rooms, so we just bought snacks and drinks for the room, which made it convenient.

It is conveniently located by some nice golf courses, and they did a very good job of lining out tee times for us.

I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoHiwayBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyled46, Front Office Manager at CopperWynd Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the review,

We are glad we were able to have you as guests. We would like to have you folks back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staying here felt like borrowing someones condo. I think the priority here is the members. It is difficult to find, staff are friendly. Pluses are awesome mountain and valley views, a feeling of remoteness, rooms very spacious and nice large bathroom. Minuses, no soda vending machines, four cigarette butts were on the balcony when I arrived. It was too cold to use the pool,
and when I went to the desk to discuss checkout on Sunday there was literally no one present, I waited about ten minutes, called out but no one appeared to be on duty. Had dinner one night at Alchemy, great view, good food, but not awesome. Also need to have some sort of breakfast on the property, even a limited menu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinmanMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyled46, Front Office Manager at CopperWynd Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Travelinman,

Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear we were not quite the fit for your stay with us. The property is "a bit off the beaten path" however the advantage with that is the panoramic views from just about anywhere on property. I am sorry to hear that there were cigarette butts on your balcony, although all rooms have a balcony the property is non smoking, even on the guest room balconies. I know the temperatures were a bit cold during your visit with us, however were do keep our pools heated and are opened year around. We are happy to announce the opening of our Barista, which is open 7 days a week from 7am to 5pm. They will offer freshly brewed coffee's, bagels, muffins, breakfast breads, fresh fruit, parfaits, sandwiches and salads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fountain Hills
2.1 mi away
Inn at Eagle Mountain
Inn at Eagle Mountain
#1 of 5 in Fountain Hills
308 reviews
4.9 mi away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
12.7 mi away
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
16.4 mi away
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
13.1 mi away
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CopperWynd Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopperWynd Resort & Spa

Property: CopperWynd Resort & Spa
Address: 13225 N Eagle Ridge Dr, Fountain Hills, AZ 85268-3343
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Fountain Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fountain Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CopperWynd Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CopperWynd Resort & Spa is an intimate 35-room resort in Scottsdale/Fountain Hills that provides guests with an exceptional getaway punctuated by dramatic views from its lofty vantage point in the majestic McDowell Mountains overlooking Fountain Hills, Arizona. The resort offers luxury accommodations, a full-service spa, 5,000-sq-ft fitness center and Flourish restaurant and bar featuring New American Cuisine. With so many Valley of the Sun vacation destinations to choose from, CopperWynd's unique experience appeals to those wishing to enjoy the Sonoran desert's distinctive brand of quiet solitude while being within a 15-minute drive to Scottsdale's dining, shopping, art and nightlife attractions. CopperWynd shines as a romantic getaway and Scottsdale wedding venue, and is also well-suited to small corporate retreats. Golfers appreciate the close proximity to golf clubs including SunRidge Canyon, Eagle Mountain and We-Ko-Pa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your CopperWynd Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperwynd Resort And Club Hotel Fountain Hills
Copperwynd Hotel Fountain Hills
Copperwynd Resort Fountain Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing