We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stop in the Desert”
Review of Rancho Sonora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rancho Sonora Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We enjoyed staying for two nights in this old desert inn. We had the Evangeline/Fernando suite and really liked that we each had our own bathrooms. How often to you get that luxury?! Both bathrooms are clean and nicely appointed with small side tables, handy for laying your brushes, toiletries. Hot water was instant and constant. Lights by the very comfortable king bed were bright enough to do some reading, not like the weak lighting found in many B&Bs. The Evangeline suite opens out to a plain little private courtyard with a couple of chairs and chaise longues. There is some road noise from the highway, but it died down significantly after dark, so we were able to leave the bathroom windows open for ventilation. The main courtyard is just beautiful. Continental breakfast was plenty for us--we eat light in the mornings and didn't want a big presentation. The innkeeper is nice and professional as mentioned in other reviews. That didn't bother me since I really didn't want to be chatted up. She strikes me as a no-nonsense person (think Barbara Stanwyck :), but I think you want that when you're out in the middle of nowhere, not too many miles from a prison. Can't say enough about the beautiful desert setting: the cacti, the birds, the smell of the creosote bushes. We didn't use the pool or spa because we were too tired--there was some leaf litter in the pool, just a small amount not unlike you might encounter in your own backyard pool. It wouldn't have deterred me from a swim had I wanted to do so. I don't know why people have complained about the RV park next door. That's what Phoenix and area is all about--snowbirds coming down for the winter. Didn't bother us at all. So if you want solitude and something different from the big city, this place is it! I felt like I had gone back in time to an old hacienda. The historic part of Florence is charming, everyone we met was friendly.

Room Tip: If the daytime highway noise bothers you, choose one of the courtyard suites or casitas away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpha_Cen_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I have been searching for a SW Paradise for several years and we finally found it!! The beauty, nature, and peacefulness we discovered at the Rancho Sonora compares only to that of a beach house on the north shore of Oahu, HI. We stayed in the Ilsa Casita. The furnishings were beautiful & comfortable, and the setting was next to perfect. Hummingbirds regularly visited the orange blossoms outside our bedroom along with many other beautiful birds. The grounds are landscaped in true SW form, full of a large spectrum of cacti, along with palm trees scattered around the pool area. There are so many things to see nearby as well as nature activities and an assortment of restaurants. Next year we plan to stay for 2 weeks! Thank you Linda for offering so much at your Inn!

Room Tip: The Casitas provide more privacy, but the inn rooms are also an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in early/mid March, weather was fantastic! Room are very clean, everything you need is here! We stayed in one of the rooms on the end and it is beautiful. Breakfast was simple yet filling, coffee had to be brewed by Linda again though. She does shut down breakfast before 10 and locks the door if she thinks you are Done having coffee which I did not like. Linda could have been more available to us a couple times but I guess we figured things out on our own. Pool is nice and we had it to ourselves two days in a row! Like our own private villa! We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubuleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My work pace is such that get-away time is a precious commodity. The Juanita cassita at The Inn at Rancho Sonora proved to be the ideal place for my bride of 36 years and I to pause, to savor the southwest beauty with open space, slowed cadence, and abundant wildlife. The grounds are spectacular in both natural beauty typical of the Sonoran cacti (largest saguaro cacti we've ever seen) as well as the owner-deployed (Linda) accents of Southwest art. It's clear that 20 years' of attention by Linda has enhanced this setting where the inspiring Superstition Mountains to the north are positioned to draw one's imagination of long-ago rugged "holy places" to the native peoples. Tranquility drapes the property; the mourning of the doves, the cries of the quail, the soaring hawks, all provide drama to the fragrant creosote and palo verde landscape.

Room Tip: The free-standing cassitas offer private living space, but the courtyard is so beautiful, one may pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBerens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our 2nd stay. About 4 yrs ago, we stayed for 4 or 5 nights. This year, 2 nights.
We had a good stay in the Alamo room last time, but this review is based on this stay, in
Clementine. And, sadly, this stay was not as pleasant as the last one. The owner was
entirely non-plussed with the fact that we wanted to stay there. She responded to my first
email, but didn't address my questions. Then didn't respond to a 2nd email. So I called to
make reservations, and there weren't the usual pleasantries. No confirmation email. No
'thank you' upon arrival. No contact from owner during stay. The morning we checked
out, the water was turned off with no notice. (So, no toilet flushing, hand washing, etc.
Surprise!) We rang the bell to turn in our key, and there was still no 'thank you' for
coming, no apology for the water shut off. Nothing. Just something to the effect of,
"checking out? great!"... back up, shut door.)

WARNING: Though not mentioned on the website, full payment is required on arrival.

Access: At MM 128. Coming from the north (Florence), the driveway is on the right, just
past the entrance to the Desert Gardens RV park. Coming from the south, the driveway is
on the left, a little ways past Cactus Forest Rd. Though the website says that some online
map places don't get it right, my 2006 version of MS MapPoint has it in the right spot.
Bed: Cushy, but head slanted downhill.
Bath: Seemed pretty clean in the areas that matter most.
Breakfast: Not exciting. White bagels and english muffins. Plain cornflakes. But nice to
see hard boiled eggs, peanut butter, and yogurt to supplement the simple carbs (though
the yogurt is sugary yoplait). Decent counter space. Makeup remover towelettes. Towels
just OK.
Electrical: I thought there weren't any extra outlets, but found some hiding behind the
drapes! So one set of free outlets in main area, one set next to sink. Electrical box
behind bed was pulled out of the wall (still with 2 things plugged into it... kinda creepy).
Fridge: Tiny one in a cabinet, but at least the cabinet is vented, so the fridge gets
somewhat cool (though not cold).
TV & Internet: 27" CRT. With DirectTV (Choice Plus, I think)! Free wireless. Computer in
the breakfast room.

Noise: A *lot* of sound transfer. Seriously needs "quiet hours."

Exterior: Nice courtyard, but even on Feb 1st there's some plant that's not dormant and
very strong smelling. (Some poeple might like it. I just don't.)
Misc: Owner is professional - but definitely not friendly. We like the "stucco/fresco" look
on the walls, though the walls need attention, with large cracks and bad patches
throughout.

Room Tip: Try the Deloras (end unit) to minimize the noise a little. (The Alamo is on the other end, but nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlyphGirl_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onesister, Owner at Rancho Sonora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are constantly working to improve our service and reviews such as this help us in that pursuit. I wish that Glyph Girl CO had come after we installed the new power centers on the desks in each of our rooms and casitas. That would have made the "outlet search" unnecessary.
To explain the water issue: We had experienced record freezing temperatures for days which had resulted in a major water line break. We made every effort to minimize the inconvenience to our guests and did an emergency repair which resulted in a 15 minute interruption in the water supply. These were extraordinary circumstances and we acted as swiftly as we could to remedy the issue. While problems like this are rare, it can also be very frustrating and inconvenient when they occur.

We pay special attention to the breakfast and try to provide a variety of fare. Sometimes those who eat early may have taken what another guest would have preferred. We offer a hand mixed granola blend, assorted bagels and breads and often have Greek yogurt as well as the standard Yoplait - which some prefer. In addition to the boiled eggs mentioned, we also have fresh ground gourmet coffee, juices and a variety of teas as well as fresh fruit.

Inn repairs are done as expeditiously as time permits with room turnovers. In short, the wall outlet is back in order.
The morning of Glyph Girls departure had been very hectic and it would seem my urgency to get everything in working order may have been misread as disinterest. Since she made no mention of a water issue (or any other issue) my "good" comment at check-out was meant to be - good, no water problem!

We do make every effort to accommodate our guests in a clean, cared for and welcoming environment and strive to deal with them in a kind and professional way. Again, my apologies Glyph Girl CO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I drove by this place for years and never realized it was here. What a charming, quite and quaint place, so glad I finally found it! It's set back a little off the road which makes a great place for rendezvous :) Wonderful and very accomidating staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stingray09-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were flying out of Phoenix the next day and looking for somewhere convenient for our last night in the USA after a long road trip. Luckily for us Globe was booked up for a conference so we cast our net a little wider and came up with a real pearl of a place. It is an RV camp as well as having rooms around a small courtyard and a few shaded cabins, however the landscaping and wonderful stands of exotic cactus give a feel of exclusivity. Our cabin (Ilsa) was right next to the pool area which felt wonderfully secluded and private. Inside the decor and cleanliness were first rate. You will probably want to make your own dinner in the well-appointed kitchenette as there's not a restaurant nearby. Then sit on your porch with a cold drink and toast the USA and the Rancho Sonora!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
5 mi away
GreenTree Inn & Suites Florence
21.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Casa Grande
21.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Casa Grande
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Blue Mist Motel
Blue Mist Motel
#2 of 2 in Florence
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Sonora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Sonora Inn

Address: 9198 N Highway 79, Florence, AZ 85132-9687
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $125 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Sonora Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of the old Southwest and the latest amenities come together in this magical historic adobe inn. Inviting courtyard rooms and private casitas (cottages) with full kitchens, living rooms and bedrooms and baths, welcome a variety of travelers. A setting of towering cactus and enhanced native vegetation, create an atmosphere of serenity and privacy. Pets welcome with approval. Centrally located on a scenic highway between Phoenix & Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Rancho Sonora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing