We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better vineyards”

Flying Leap Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Flying Leap Vineyards & Distillery is a committed team of southern Arizona family farmers, talented winemakers, skilled distillers and passionate merchants of the Arizona Wine Country experience. We grow a vast portfolio of winegrapes on our ranches in southern & southeastern Arizona, and we produce a delicious array of finely-crafted, ultra premium wines and distilled spirits from our harvests. Flying Leap's Elgin facility is a working winery and distillery. All of Flying Leap wines are produced from grapes we grow - we do not purchase fruit from anyone. Accordingly, our wines express the unique terroir of our vineyards and are showpieces of the craft, skills and patience of our winemakers. Our distillery facility is completed and a second tasting room for spirits is now open on weekends, as well as a new outdoor park & recreation area and 132-person entertainment venue. Come visit us in the heart of Arizona Wine Country!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the better vineyards”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The tasting room is accommodating: spacious, tables & chairs.

We were allowed to look at their vines. A nice gentleman out back told us about the operation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nickdaddyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's no flying leap to stop here!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The new ownership of this winery is moving it forward by leaps and bounds! Some excellent newly bottled wines are here for the tasting. These guys know how to expand and market, and, they are super nice on top of it. They are so willing to share their story with you and educate you about the wine making process. Be sure to stop here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the rise!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Used to be Canelo Hills, the changes are fantastic! Visited this past weekend and had a great time with a very knowledgable but chill staff.. Will definitely include on the next trip to Senoita!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_ODonnell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pleasant experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I went to Elgin AZ for a wine tasting Sunday. We went to about 4 or 5 wineries. By far the best one for friendliness, knowledge and just a pleasant experience was Flying Leap Vineyards in Elgin AZ. It was our good fortune to have Mark Beres President serve us and tell us about different wines. We were greeted when we walked in and were not rushed or have glasses and products pushed on us to buy as in other wineries. Suffice is it to say we bought wine from him and not others.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting,tasty and well worth the trip”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

There are many wineries in the area but this one is well worth the stop. Specifically don't miss their Zinfandel

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Leap Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Flying Leap Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing