We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing gem in the heart of Arizona”

Kief-Joshua Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“An amazing gem in the heart of Arizona”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I must admit I'm a wine snob and was reluctant to give Arizona wines a try. Yet I was incredibly rewarded by our visit to Sonoita Wine Country about an hour outside of Tucson, AZ. We tried a few places but by far Kief-Joshua Vineyards was the best. It is beautiful and the wine is outstanding. I felt like I was in Australia where the young owner had studied. It is a must visit and the wine, especially the Divino, is outstanding.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nmmelancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, Owner at Kief-Joshua Vineyards, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We sincerely appreciate it! If you ever get back to visit, please let us know and we'd love to offer you a free wine tasting. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    18
    12
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING Atmosphere & WINE!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband & I were fortunate enough to stumble upon this hidden treasure. Upon arrival the first thing you see is a beautiful home surrounded by a serene view of the mountains. Once inside the front door you are standing in the tasting room. The decor is Italian gothic and the vibe is warm and inviting. We were very pleased to have such a variety of wines to taste. From a sweet Zinfandel, to a Tempranillo to my favorite the Magdelena. This wine is very special as it is named after the winemakers grandmother. Speaking of the winemaker...wow! We were so impressed with his knowledge of the craft & he is so handsome!!! We decided to have a picnic on the patio to enjoy the afternoon and relax. We were surprised to see none other than The Honorable Sandra Day O'Connor! What a treat to be in the same winery. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed excellent wine, a beautiful winery & relaxed in a picture perfect outdoor area with goats and sheep. We will definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, Owner at Kief-Joshua Vineyards, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much. We are glad you had a great time :-). Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Least favorite winery out of 5 we visited in the Elgin area.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

First smell of walking into the tasting room had a strong odor of wet dog smell. Maybe we couldn't past that because all of their wine had a funky smell to it. Nearly all the wineries we've ever been to (and we've been to a lot) have dogs running around but this is the only winery that had this odor to it. The young man behind the counter looked extremely bored and acted like he'd rather be anywhere else.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cmlhigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, Owner at Kief-Joshua Vineyards, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks for the review. Hope you have a terrific day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Stylized wine, you won't enjoy their wines if you don't like reds/dry whites”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A lot of wineries provide a wider range of wines to engage the most customers. Even if they specialize in whites, a winery will usually have a red, just to cover the red wine drinkers. These folks did not. Their wines are solid, average wines--They have a total of five that they do very well, which unless you like the type of wine they produce, you won't enjoy your experience. The building is beautiful and has beautiful views--we enjoyed the fact that we could buy some fresh cheeses, jarred salsa and munchy type things, however two of the three in my party wouldn't even sample the wines since they knew they wouldn't like them, which dampened the experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahbears_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, Owner at Kief-Joshua Vineyards, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your response. I am very confused about your posting as we do not jut carry white wines. We have two dry whites, three dry reds, and one sweet red.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Awesome Wines !!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I did some wine tasting in the Southern Arizona area. We did a wine tasting at Kief-Joshua Vineyards. The tasting room was elegant and the wines were excellent. We bought a few bottles to save for special occasions. We would recommend this winery if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, Owner at Kief-Joshua Vineyards, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We sincerely appreciate it! Hope to see you again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kief-Joshua Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Kief-Joshua Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing