We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mandatory stop on your Arizona wine tour”

Kief-Joshua Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A mandatory stop on your Arizona wine tour”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This was the first stop on our Arizona wine country tour, a beautiful country facility nestled in the rolling grasslands. The Arizona wine country is nearly at the mile-high level of the southern part of the state, between the old mining town of Bisbee and the Nogales border point.

We arrived in early afternoon on a rainy Wednesday. Yes, we almost had to turn the wipers up a notch from the Mist setting! It made for a cozy stop through which we learned more about the land, the climate, and the art of winemaking. We sampled an assortment of three whites and three reds during our stay, and once the local hiking club had left we had the undivided attention of our host.

The wine tour was a perfect follow-up to a great lunch in historic Bisbee, offering a pleasant ride, some great bites of education, and a refreshing wine finish! We'll be adding Kief Joshua to the itinerary for tours with our visiting friends!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    12
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice tasting room, very friendly host”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stopped here 1st, only 3 tasting rooms were open on the Monday we were down there.. loved their wines, the host was very friendly and relaxed ... can't wait to go back!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AZRAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We had visitors during mid-week; generally the wineries in our area are open only on the weekend. But has we were touring the area we happened upon the Kief-Joshua Vineyards, which are open seven days a week. Great, no weekend crowds, so we were the only visitors at the time. The young man who greeted us, was very pleasant, as were his two very friendly dogs. What struck us the most, was how unassumming he was. When asked who the owner was he only said "I am". Kief is very unique and passionate about his vines and wines, using traditional winemaking methods to make some very classy wines. He willingly shares information about his winery; no question was too simple.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Blokzijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this winery on your tour”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good wines, charming tasting room and lovely owners. This is one of our favorite vineyards to visit when we are in the area.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank joyfulfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Find in the wineries of southern Arizona”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have to say I had a great time tasting wines in Southern Arizona, but the highlight was the Kief-Joshua Vineyards. The tasting room is open and bright, Kief, the winemaker was pouring samples and showed great hospitality in describing his wines and techniques. The temperanillo we tried was outstanding. Actually all of the wines were exceptional, they would stand up against California, Italy or Spain! If you are in the Sonoita/Elgin area, Kief-Joshua is a winery you do not want to miss.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank srpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kief-Joshua Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Kief-Joshua Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing