We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gadsden”
Review of Gadsden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gadsden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're in need of flat screen tv's, pool, or a spotless, modern room you won't be happy here.
But if you're intersted in western US History that you can truly touch and feel this is a gem.
Also, you can park once. There's not only a rest. and bar in the Hotel, but across st. is a great Soho/Village type coffee shop w/ sandwiches and a full service Mexican restaurant.
Unrelated to the Gadsden and it's rare charms, you can walk a half hr. to the border where
a Mexican Dentist of your choice will pick you up, drive to the office and perform ANY Dental Work for less than half price of US dentists. Your savings will more than cover the Gadsden,
the History lessons are priceless, and you return with a healthy mouth. This is a well rounded vacation with super weather!

Room Tip: Room 106 shouldn't be used unless Hotel is full as AC unit howels directly underneath which prev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dhughd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here three nights while touring the Douglas area. The hotel is a treasure, there are not many around like this anymore! It is an old hotel, so don't be surprised if some of the surroundings are not entirely modern - after all, that is the point of this place - it has a personality! You can enjoy a beautiful lobby with incredible stained-glass windows and skylights, a gorgeous marble staircase, a beautiful tile mural in the restaurant, and display cases full of historic photos and documents on the second floor balcony. It even has a cool old manually-operated elevator. We got one of the rooms with a jacuzzi, and found the bed much more comfortable than the average hotel bed. Everything was very clean. The food in the attached restaurant was fabulous, and we found the staff to be cheerful, extremely helpful, and quick to offer advice about the area and history of the hotel.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed one of the jacuzzi suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ND_bike_hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Some folks just have to have a hotel with 4 stars to sleep at night and this isnt one of them. I really bent things to give 3 stars but I did enjoy all the old pictures in the Mezzanine and the view from sitting in the Mez looking down. Hey its a little dingey, so what.

Order a hamburger and fries and a pepsi. That really isn't food and the hot grease will purify it nicely. There is a ghost but I didnt see it. I loved the Tiffany glass murals, these are a treasure. The broken marble step on the staircase was done by Pancho Villa's horse, now that is history!

Live a little, the Gadsen Hotel is a historical place in a very out of the way location. Once travelers didnt require a 400 sq foot 2 room suite and this will prove it.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a suite?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have so many complaints I don't know where to start. They served the food without utensils, they forgot to put out any drinks (which we were charge for). The owner, Robin, will lead you to believe she is a wedding planner - NOT. I had to organize all the attendants and music. She just walked off to show someone else the hotel. We did not have enough chairs. When we asked her to get more she said okay but never did it. Oh, I could go on and on. We were over charged for our room. She tried to put the bride and attendants in a small, dirty office space for getting dressed, the day of the wedding and for pictures. It was a closet! Don't do it! Don't stay there. Drive up twenty minutes north and stay in Bisbee. Have your wedding in Bisbee too, it was horrible.

Room Tip: Drive twenty minutes north to a town called Bisbee! Stay there. It is a wonderful town, great shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We loved historical hotels and this is now one of our favorites. The setting is lovely, the restaurant great, and the staff friendly and accommodating. We were there in January for a family reunion. It couldn't have been nicer. We loved meeting the owners and assured them we'd be back soon. Stay in a jacuzzi suite if possible. Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bookishdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Definitely not the best hotel, but definitely full of character and charm. The lobby area is amazing but the rooms are not the best. Glad we stayed there but might choose a different, more modern hotel if we stay again. Restaurant serves good food in a conquistador setting. Overall it's an experience that can be included in a bucket list and leave you with tales to tell to the less daring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desertrogues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent a night at the Gadsden to see the historic site. The lobby was beautiful with historic stained glass in the front wall and the ceiling. The elevator was an antique complete with an elevator operator--the desk clerk. The public areas are beautifully restored and worth the trip. The rooms are not. If you expect modern rooms and convenience, you will be unhappy. If you go for history, you will have a great experience. The hotel was built in 1907 and rebuilt after a fire in the 1920s. There is little or no insulation, so the rooms are noisy; heating is from radiators that are turned on in the evening and off in the morning. Our room was cold until about 10 pm. Plumbing is questionable--we had hot water in the shower but no cold. However, the style and character add a certain charm--and the bed was fine. Most important, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the visit was a fun and very interesting outing. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. The Gadsden Special (chicken fried steak, eggs, hashbrowns, and tortilla was very well done and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor (100s) and it was fine and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
22.3 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
763 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Travelers Motel
#3 of 5 in Douglas
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Douglas Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Maria Bonita Suite
Maria Bonita Suite
#1 of 1 in Agua Prieta
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Douglas
Motel 6 Douglas
#5 of 5 in Douglas
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gadsden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gadsden Hotel

Address: 1046 N G Ave, Douglas, AZ 85607-2018
Location: United States > Arizona > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: $98 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gadsden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Gadsden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Hotel Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing