We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service!”
Review of Gadsden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gadsden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
Pearce, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My Wife and I were married in the lobby over the weekend and everything was great! The hotel staff was super friendly and helpfully and made our day even more amazing then we dreamed! Huge thanks to Robin and the entire staff! We ordered our reception food from the onsite restaurant and we very pleased with the quality & quantity for our money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    26
    19
    27
See reviews for
27
81
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bisbee, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently ate breakfast at the Gadsden Hotel. I entered through the “family entrance” and took a refreshing step back in time. The breakfast counter and stools are on one side of the cafe, and high leather booths line the opposite wall. Large windows look out on G Avenue and the interior is quiet and spacious. My prompt and courteous waitress recommended the “Trail Mix,” eggs scrambled with cheese, beans, chorizo ($1.50 extra), and corn tortilla, served with creamy-textured refried beans and a flour tortilla. The menu is simple, with traditional egg breakfasts and a few Mexican specialties. The coffee was hot, fresh and not too strong, and I got a glass of water with no ice, as requested.

After breakfast, I sat in one of the leather club chairs in the Gadsden hotel lobby. Built in 1907, the huge Tiffany stained glass window, depicting a desert scene, is framed by a grand staircase leading from the ground floor lobby up to the rooms surrounding an open area. Patrons come and go between the shops and offices on the ground floor, but the size and layout of the lobby contribute to a sense of serenity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

we visited the hotel in Feb. of 2012....worst place we've ever been. lobby is amazing...then you go into your room...no heat, no hot water, rust on the tub and sink...both rooms we had (one on 2nd floor, one on 3rd floor) looked like they were decorated from the depression era...LITERALLY!!! old, old, old...not worth the $$ !!!

the pictures on the website are FALSE!!!

trust me...drive a mile down the road and stay @ the Holiday Inn !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wrestlermomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Gadsden Hotel has a lot of interesting history behind it and does have beautiful aspects to it's lobby that people speak of. The marble floors, tiled artwork, and Tiffany windows are definitely beautiful; however, those things and the history behind the place are the ONLY beautiful things to speak of.

This hotel needs a good spring cleaning, clutter clean up, and some simple and inexpensive work done to it. 

The rooms vary depending on how much bed space you need. My family took up 7 different rooms, some had two beds and some had one bed rooms. Every two bed room we had were cluttered with dirty, old, broken down furniture from the late 80's.  Every room was extremely dusty, blinds broken, and was decorated so "hodge podge" that it was hardly cute, quaint, or charming. The rooms looked more like a living room you would see on the show COPS.

The bathrooms are small as to be expected based on the age of the place, but are in need of some major resurfacing as the tubs and sinks are all rusting and chipping. 

The restaurant was great for breakfast. The food was average and the service was professional. 

We had made reservations ahead for dinner since we had such a large group. Luckily our waitress from dinner was funny, and exceptionally nice. Something had to make up for the food and thrown together service. The food was what you would expect from a hospital stay and the service was about as good as two ten year olds playing restaurant. 

The so called bartender was pleasant yet had no clue what wines he had and had to "clean up the wine glasses because they were really dusty." Yes, he really said that out loud. After dinner some went to the bar for drinks and again he had no clue he carried a certain alcohol that was asked for. It was in his bar and had to be pointed out to him. A Vodka Collins was requested also, which you guessed it, he had no clue what that was.

The most frustrating part about the entire stay was seeing how much potential this hotel has to be so great.

My family and I had a lot of laughs about the place and it created unforgettable and fond memories for us.

I suggest making a visit to the Gadsden for sure, but don't stay here. You'll get more charm and comfort at the Copper Queen in Bisbee, just a short drive north.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arismommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had read about the lobby but it still took my breath away. The center columns are gilded in gold and the Tiffany window, when backlit by the sun, is truly spectacular. I was advised to get a room on the mezzanine floor, which I did. It was a good room, but expect the basics with some character. I met the owner over breakfast, which is very good by the way. Check out all the murals in the restaurant also. There are ghosts and there are filled in tunnels under the lobby to Mexico. You can get a tour if you ask. Fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the mezzanine - rooms facing north have a great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were traveling through the area and spent a night at the Gadsden. I had seen a write-up on the hotel and it looked great. Entering the lobby was truly an awesome experience and I don't use that word frequently. We took many pictures there, but they can't possibly do it justice. The place has to be seen to be believed. The Tiffany glass wall mural is so beautiful with the morning light streaming through. Our room was spacious and comfortable although a little cold due to a draft around the old windows. As other reviewers have said, the place could be modernized, but it would almost certainly lose much of the charm of the bygone era it represents. If you want the latest in comfort and convenience, stay in a modern concrete box by the interstate. This place is truly a step back in time to a type of accommodation that hardly exists any more and it is a rare bargain at the price. The dining room with its tile mural of Italy is not to be missed either. Both the ambiance and the food were excellent. We were waited on by a young lady who said that she had grown up in Douglas and had often come into the hotel just to admire its beauty during her school years. She was thrilled to be able to get a job working there. What a rare thing that is now!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

What a great find! We spotted the tall neon sign on the roof as drove into town after dark. Magnificent old lobby, beautiful Tiffany glass mural wall, and lots of historical information. The bed was fine, and we slept well. On the down side, the plumbing is old and funky but is a good reminder (or education for the younger set) of how much progress has been made in plumbing since 1927. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel's dining room and enjoyed the good food and friendly service. Our corner room was spacious, though a little shabby, but that doesn't bother us; we were very happy to be right in the center of town. And the price was certainly right.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
22.3 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
745 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Travelers Motel
#3 of 5 in Douglas
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Douglas Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Douglas
Motel 6 Douglas
#5 of 5 in Douglas
20 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gadsden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gadsden Hotel

Property: Gadsden Hotel
Address: 1046 N G Ave, Douglas, AZ 85607-2018
Location: United States > Arizona > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gadsden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Gadsden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadsden Hotel Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing