We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

We spent two nights here during a trip to Arizona. Checkin was quick and easy with a frienly hostess. The room was spotless and very nicely equipped. The fridge came in handy. We were less than 30 minutes from downtown Sedona and the drive was beautiful. The wifi hookup was fast and reliable. For less than $100 a night, we considered this a bargain.
Some other posters have complained about the noise. Yes, it is at a busy intersection and sits behind a restaurant and a gas station. Yes, we heard traffic during our stay but it wasn't anything horrible. If you want perfect quiet, then stay at one of the expensive, remote resorts in Sedona! We'll happily stay here again on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccarrillo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a very nice review of our hotel. We strive very hard to provide great customer service as well as a clean/comfortable place to stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    231
    112
    32
    21
See reviews for
182
203
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san marino
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

AVOID this place!!! I've stayed at lots of Best Westerns with no problem whatsoever. I picked this place because it was a Best Western. What a mistake! The staff was friendly enough, but incompetent. I signed up for two days and they IN ERROR checked me out after day one (they had my cell number too!) and dumped my clothes on the sidewalk minutes after the day one checkout time, but ironically failed to prevent me from accessing the room with my coded key. The owner was very defensive, obnoxious, and curt.

If you have lots of tattoos and body piercings, enjoy the company of morbidly obese truckers, like staying in a hotel room for around $100 per night behind the parking lot of a Mexican restaurant, and are used to being abused by front office clerks, then this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccarrillo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
I am terribly sorry you feel the way you do about our property. My staff strive very hard to make every guests stay enjoyable. I apologize for the miscommunication on your length of stay. It is not our policy to mishandle a guests belongings. I feel my staff handled your particular situation with courtesy and professionalism. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed here to avoid some of the expense of Sedona which is about 20 minutes away. Sedona has a very overpriced, tourist feel to me. So I'm glad I didn't spend more to stay there. This typical for the chain hotel is located in a big-box store type area on the outside of town. We arrived at dark and it was set behind some other storefronts but was not hard to find. The room was clean and adequate. The staff (young lady) at check-in was very friendly and helpful. The landscaping was well-maintained as was the room. There was a tour bus full of people staying here the night we stayed. This is really more of a motel because each room opens to the outdoors. If you are looking for ambiance, keep looking. However if you are looking for a fairly priced room (especially when compared to Sedona) where the staff works hard to help you have a good night's rest, try here. One word of advice, eat anywhere else (and there are several chain options across the 4 lane highway) than casa bonita. Discount or no discount, the food is adequate, but they scammed us to change the $1.49 taco( $3 for 2) my son had into a $10 "dinner" by adding 2 tablespoons of rice and 2 tablespoons of refried beans. Seven dollars extra when no mention of price was made is my definition of a tourist scam! Don't hold that against the hotel though. Breakfast was typical for this type of included chain help-yourself meal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAfamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of May and booked in advance online having been seduced by the idea of a casita and the descriptions/opinions on this site. Unfortunately, we never really recovered from our initial disappointment at its location..... behind a gas station at a very busy intersection. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the room was clean and well-equipped, the breakfast was acceptable but the private patio was a small, enclosed and bare-walled "yard". No view or flowers made the space more inviting and we did not use it at all. The Cottonwood location met our needs and we enjoyed the easy access to Sedona, Jerome and Clarkdale (don't miss the Verde Canyon Railroad). I wish I could be more enthusiastic but at a price of $141.00 per night inclusive, we really expected a little more. So, fine for short stays and easy travelling to the stunning Verde Valley area but frustratingly low on atmosphere when you are aware of all the beauty nearby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing Manager at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2009
So sorry you thought our Casita room was lacking. The Casita rooms have rose garden entrances, which are stunning! And, Casita location is away from the rest of the hotel and the gas station cannot be seen from their location. Open only to adults, gives a little more privacy that our guests love. You're the first not to love our Casita rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in April/May. First reaction was - oh dear, where is the view. However the hotel proved to be in an ideal location for touring the area without the expense of staying in Sedona. Breakfast was very adequate, self made waffles devine! Several varied eating places close by. Staff were helpful and pleasant and our whole stay proved to be more than satisfactory. Free internet a true bonus.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing Director at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
I am so happy your stay was pleasant and that you found the time to share your experience! I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

A very average hotel in all repects. It was not cheap and I expected more.
Breakfast was ok, with Waffles, bagels,cereal etc but the "Hot" option was awful. There was no fruit option.
Wi-fi was included and worked well. Service was ok. Rooms ok but very noisy A/C.

Very difficult to say anything other than very average and I would not recommend it as I believe there are better hotels for the money!
Sorry!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGillingham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
I am so sorry you did not think our Hotel was a value. I'm truly surprised!
The Best Western Cottonwood Inn is the ONLY 3-Diamond AAA-Rated Hotel in Cottonwood! And, about 1/2 the price, compared to Sedona!
And, we take great pride in our customer service and property! Plus, a complimentary breakfast with Hostess in attendance--compare to likeness at a restaurant & this is really a per person savings!
Are you sure you have the Best Western Cottonwood Inn?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

My husband & I stayed in a casita for 6 nights and it was a perfect choice! Well worth the upgrade! The location is perfect for exploring the Verde Valley! Beautiful Sedona is just a short and scenic drive away! The helpful desk staff made reservations for us for the area attractions (with discounts!) and made some excellent restaurant recommendations! Clean rooms, adequate breakfast (if you are not fussy) - a good choice if you just want a clean, comfortable, & safe place to rest up after a long day of hiking, sightseeing, etc. Much thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedonamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
From all Best Western Cottonwood Inn members, thank you for your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Sedona-Verde Valley. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
0.2 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
12.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Camp Verde Arizona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Verde Valley Inn
Verde Valley Inn
#4 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
Address: 993 S Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-4608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern low-rise - Route 260 off I-17, to Cottonwood 12 mi. Sedona Just 15 Minutes Away! Come visit the beautiful Sedona-Verde Valley! The Best Western Cottonwood Inn is centrally located to many attractions. Take a relaxing four-hour train ride on the Verde Canyon Railroad, First Class or Coach car; enjoy a dinner show at the Blazin' M Ranch; take the Serengeti Safari at Out of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cottonwood Hotel Cottonwood
Cottonwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing