We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
North East England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early May 2008, booking directly by phone from the previous hotel on our itinerary.
We were a little apprehensive at first, as this appeared to be in quite a busy location, but we needn't have worried.
The hotel is in a great location for visiting Sedona, Jerome and the Wilderness Train. We originally planned to stay in Sedona, but decided that Cottonwood provided better value for money. Sedona is only 30 minutes away by car, with beautiful scenery on the way.
The breakfast was OK, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby.
Staff were friendly and the room was clean.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RileyNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing Director at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to let others know of our hotel. As the hub location to the Sedona-Verde Valley, makes our Hotel a convent place to stay. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    230
    111
    32
    21
See reviews for
181
203
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

This motel is well-positioned in Cottonwood, with plenty of restaurants within walking distance, a superb food supermarket (Fry's) opposite and also close to a Walmart.

Our 2 Queen bed room faced the adjoining garage and unfortunately, we were kept awake by partying guests in the rooms below until 3am on 2 nights.( This might frighten older guests) Reception said that we should have reported it to the police but we didn't want the aggro on holiday.

Our room was clean with hairdrier, a useful fridge, iron/board, coffee maker and awful polystyrene cups. There were no plastic cups to clean teeth etc. and reception said that they were unavailable. The bathroom was very tiny and would not suit a family. Lighting was so bad that we couldn't read or put in contact lenses but that is not unusual in hotels. It is very frustrating when you have poor eye-sight.

The breakfast room was immaculate although quite inadequate at peaktimes but everything possible was done to find spaces for keen travellers at 7am!

We'd definitely recommend this BW which is probably more suited to couples than families. It is far superior (and much cheaper) than Sedona BWs. It far -exceeded our expectations.

If you have time, visit the $3 Jerome museum before the walk round the town and have a drive through old Clarkdale. Slide Rock on the 89 near Sedona is a must for families.

  • Liked — clean, well-maintained and convenient
  • Disliked — inadequate and low voltage lighting
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2007
We appreciate your candid remarks and wanted to let you know we are working on improving our rooms. New lighting, bathrooms, etc, etc, are in the works and are scheduled to be completed by end of the year!

I'm sorry to hear about the noise while you were here. The 3d weekend of October each year is "Spook" weekend--the biggest event for the Valley! Of course, this doesn't excuse the problem; and, I'm sorry my staff did not handle it appropriately for you.

Normally, our newly renovated breakfast area that seats over 40 is sufficient . Everyone seemed to get hungry at the same time for breakfast!

I hope you'll come again. And, once again thank you for your comments. We strive to give VIP treatment at a reasonable rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

Many thanks to Candy and the staff at the Cottonwood Inn for making our stay so great. We had a perfect room, the Blazing Ranch Show and dinner were just great, the Train was a lovely relaxing time and the Out of Africa Zoo was very very special.
The breakfasts were more than adequate and we enjoyed the Irish Pub reccomended by one of the front desk staff.

  • Liked — Our room and the excellent staff
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Calicolodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2007
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay! Hopefully, we'll meet again. As always, the staff at Best Western Cottonwood Inn appreciate our VIPs taking the time to drop a message to the world. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siberia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

We arrived tired, early evening and asked for a room with a mountain view which we instantly got (first floor). The staff were very polite, helpful - the young guy showed me the room straight away.
It's a relaxing and peaceful location. Great views of those unique Arizona mountains. It was great to watch the changing colours as afternoon turned to evening.

We had tried Sedona but were put off by the prices (around $200 to $250 for a basic motel as it was Spring Break / Easter - maybe it's always more expensive, don't know) and also put off by the obviously manufactured 'cowboy-town' plastic-ness of Sedona.

20 mins drive away, in Cottonwood, the price dropped to $99.

The room was great - v spacious, decent quality fixtures and fittings, well equipped bathroom, etc- what you'd expect from a good quality BWestern.

The grounds of the motel were clean, well manicured, with a small-ish pool, fine for kids, and a whirlpool for adults.

The breakfast was fab - we'd been used to cheap and nasty donuts at other motels. This BWestern had a full self service - hot drinks, eggs, cereals, toast, waffles, etc. Lovely!

Everything seemed easy and very relaxing at this place - ideal if you're tired and want no fuss.

Don't miss Historic Cottonwood. Very nice. We found a great family run Mexican restaurant at the far end of Historic Cottonwood, left hand side of the road. (much better for dinner than the dodgy Mexican restaurant next door to the B.WEstern). Historic Cottonwood has various dinner options, plus bars.

  • Liked — Location, Quality of Accommodation
  • Disliked — A bit remote on a main road, like most motels are!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elliethepellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2007
On behalf of Best Western Cottonwood Inn thank you for your rave review! We try hard to give everyone VIP-Treatment at an affordable price. Hope you will come again. There's always lots to see & do in the Verde Valley. Once again, thank you for choosing to...
Rest in the West with the Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

My wife and I and our 2 children stayed here on March 10th for 1 nt. because The Jerome Grand was sold out (we stayed there on the 11th).
This Best Western has no ventilation in the bathroom and after showering, it's just like a sauna. I felt like I was in FL! The pool and spa are very basic, but in working order. Breakfast was from 6:30 to 10 a.m. and at 8:40 everything was gone! We ended up going to Mcdonald's for breakfast, which is just down the street. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We made the mistake of leaving for dinner because upon our return, there were no parking spaces left! I had to sit and wait for someone to leave from the adjacent restaurant. In summation, I would give this hotel 2 diamonds at most.
Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Liked — Close proximity to Jerome
  • Disliked — No breakfast; no ventilation in bathroom.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2007
As the only AAA-rated 3-Diamond Hotel in Cottonwood, we are very proud to meet the standards & qualifications required to receive this distinquished rating. One standard stipulation is to have exhaust fans in all restrooms. If a malfunction occurred, once reported the 24-hour front desk, the agent will ensure prompt action is taken to correct the problem. The Best Start breakfast consists of homemade belguim waffles, boiled eggs, fruits, cereals, plus a breakfast attendant for stocking supplies. Best Western Cottonwood Inn offers our guests reasonable rates, have a very good value for the price, & we're close to many attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

My stay at Best Western Cottonwood Inn was very relaxing. The staff was refreshing and provided great service. The modern room that I stayed in was spacious and peaceful. The Casita is the best for special occasions.

  • Liked — The great staff service.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2007
On behalf of Best Western Cottonwood Inn, I sincerely appreciate your kind comments! We take pride in our establishment & services--continually striving for excellence for our guests, which are all VIPs in our book! Come see our newly renovated lobby & rooms. As always, "Rest in the West with the Best" Best Western Cottonwood Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2005

We were in this part of Arizona to ride the Verde Canyon RR (excellent) and do some other things in the area. Picked the Best Western to stay at. Rooms were clean, spacious and the curtains kept the bright sun out. Plenty of ice in the ice machines to fill the cheap styrofoam cooler from Wal-Mart for cold water all day. Breakfast was excellent. For continental style, they had hard boiled eggs, cereal, coffee and also made to order waffles which were some of the best we've ever tasted. You poured the batter in yourself and in 2.7 minutes they're done. Awesome! We also went to the Balzin' M Ranch dinner/show. For under $25, it was a great value. Dinner is OK, basic BBQ grub, but eat all you want. The show was excellent. Together it was a fantastic bargain.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales2006, Sales & Marketing Director at BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2006
Thank you so much! Best Western Cottonwood Inn tries to keep our cost to our guests @ an economical value.

Rest in the West with us then visit other surrounding towns within minutes of your hotel room. Taking excursions such as the Verde Canyon Railroad train or Blazin' M Ranch Dinner/Show.

And don't forget to include Out of Africa Wildlife Park for an unforgetable Serengeti ride through the wild. (Keep 1 biscuit for the 2nd stop).

Hope to see you back again soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
0.2 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
15.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
14.2 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#7 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
Address: 993 S Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-4608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern low-rise - Route 260 off I-17, to Cottonwood 12 mi. Sedona Just 15 Minutes Away! Come visit the beautiful Sedona-Verde Valley! The Best Western Cottonwood Inn is centrally located to many attractions. Take a relaxing four-hour train ride on the Verde Canyon Railroad, First Class or Coach car; enjoy a dinner show at the Blazin' M Ranch; take the Serengeti Safari at Out of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cottonwood Hotel Cottonwood
Cottonwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing