We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot”
Review of Tavern Grille

Tavern Grille
Ranked #6 of 110 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed April 12, 2014

So the same couple who own the Haunted Hamburger and Grapes in Jerome own this place too, learned this off the back of the menus. They did a great job with this place. We stopped in here on Tuesday 4/1 for lunch since we were wine tasting in the area. I had a glass of wine and my husband just has a beer, the only bummer was that they didn't have any ciders but our experience was so good I couldn't take a star away for that. We shared the Santa Fe spring rolls and they were great, just spicy enough and came out hot, we also shared the tavern sliders which were perfect, I think they should take the recipe for their burgers here up to haunted hamburger in Jerome. The staff were all polite and friendly and interactive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Our burgers are cooked a little different than the Haunted Hamburger's are. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 663 of 883 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had dinner there. It was Friday night and quite crowded. Despite that we were seated with our group within 15 minutes. Friendly reception and bar staff but it was evident they were understaffed for the amount of people in the restaurant and bar. Thus the service was less than it should have been. Example: it took three requests and 10 minutes later to get water refilled. Food was pretty average but I will say that this meal was excellent value for money. Atmosphere is very nice but just a tad too noisy in the bar area. But that comment is made with the knowledge the place was packed and vibrant with chit chat. We would return but not order the medallions again as they were severely overcooked and dried out. The french onion soup was excellent as well as the sweet potato fries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gwiazinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We are unhappy to hear that your meal did not exceed your expectations. We are sorry that the service was inattentive and that the medallions were overcooked. We hope you give us a chance in the future to make sure you have a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

After rave reviews we tried it. I had fish tacos. The menu said to choose from three, chicken, beef, or shrimp. I chose one of each and waitress said there would be a charge for that. Whatever I said and she came back and said it was a dollar charge. The tortillas were very dry and so were the little chicken cubes. Sauce bland at best. Would not order again until they change all that. Husbands meatloaf was just ok. Staff friendly and beer cold.

2  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we will take a look at the tacos and meatloaf and see if we can find a way to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great find! My family and I were in Cottonwood looking for a restaurant for dinner. After checking with Yelp we decided on Nick's Italian food restaurant. However Nick's had a 30 minute wait so we walked across the street to The Tavern Grille. The wait was only about 15 minutes so we stayed. Very smart decision to stay. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly. If you like dark beer's I highly recommend the Porter. The meals are large - can be shared - and the food was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Bummer that you didn't get to eat at Nic's but super awesome that you chose us as had a great experience! Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review, your feedback is important to us and future diners. We hope to see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This restaurant is in Old Town Cottonwood Arizona. When you enter the restaurant, the first thing you see is a large bar in the center of the front portion of the restaurant. Booths are set up around the outside perimeter and in the back near the kitchen. We were there for lunch, but were able to order from the dinner menu. I had stuffed meatloaf, and my partner had 4 cheese macaroni. Both were very good. The service was ok, but I've had better. Not very attentive. Good value and quantity for the money. It cost us $39 for the two of us. No Alcohol.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie03045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere. We are not so happy to hear that the service was not up to your expectations. If you are in the Verde Valley in the future we hope you stop by again and give us a chance to exceed your expectations all around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Grille also viewed

 

Been to Tavern Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing