We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Layout, Good Food, Excellent Service”
Review of Tavern Grille

Tavern Grille
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Layout, Good Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were on the road from Tucson to Jerome and stopped off in Cottonwood at lunchtime. Wandered up and down the main drag and peeked into restaurant & cafe windows (while also referring to Trip Advisor reviews), and went for Tavern Grille, which had a steady stream of customers entering it.

Welcoming hostess made sure we were quickly seated at a booth that had just been vacated.
Quick and efficient service by the waitstaff.

Enjoyed a tasty plate of fish and chips & sweet & spicy coleslaw.

As stated in my title, the restaurant layout was great... booths on the two sides, big bar area in the center. And it was not at all noisy despite being completely full for lunch service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaCasanaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are very happy you enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope to be a stop again on your next trip up North!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    279
    75
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Must have been an off day for food. Good service though.”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

While inspecting some property in the area, five of us ate lunch at The Tavern Grille on Main Street in Cottonwood.

I had the BBQ chicken wrap with jalapeno coleslaw, my wife had the Prime Rib Dip, and our friends had salads. One Southwestern Chicken Salad and two Oriental Chicken Salads.

My BBQ was good, but pretty cold. Some warms pots and then some cold spots. I really wasn't sure if it was supposed to be cold or hot. It was a tasty BBQ sauce, but overall nothing to rave about and I wouldn't order it again. The coleslaw was good. My wife rated her 'French Dip' as flavorless and she would not order it again. The folks with the salads enjoyed them but they had to ask for more salad dressing on the side as they were dressed pretty sparsely.

The place was busy at it was lunch time and the place is noisy. Could use some sound absorbing materials on the concrete walls.

Service was friendly and very fast and our waitress was very accommodating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a experience with us. We strive to make every guest's experience a positive one. We take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to regain your trust and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Late night opportunity in Cottonwood”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

In Northern Arizona it's hard to find good food after 8 pm. Tavern Grille is one of the places you can get great food after 8. They have a great selection of perfectly seasoned and cooked delicacies. From Ahi tuna to some of the best meatloaf you've ever tasted. They cater to those who have gluten sensitivity and have great buns for their scrumptious burgers. And don't forget desert. It's not to be missed on your trip

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for making us your late night dining choice! We are so glad to hear that you enjoy our food and atmosphere! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for happy hour and are so glad we did! We got the sliders and discovered that they are absolutely amazing! I would recommend them to anyone. We went in after wine tasting all day to discover that they too had some nice wine and fantastic food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while in Cottonwood. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
280 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“old town comfortable feel and food”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

very nice service friendliness, food impressive. best wings I've had in quite awhile with them breaded slightly and cooked to being done without chewiness or dryness. not huge and definitely a go to spot with lines waiting for a table at the high times.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank izymassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and had the best wings! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Grille also viewed

 

Been to Tavern Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing