We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers!”
Review of Tavern Grille

Tavern Grille
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After spending the day riding the Verde Valley Train, we stopped to have dinner at the Tavern Grille in Cottonwood, AZ. It is a livey place with wall to wall Flatscreen TVs. This is definitely a sports bar. The menu is excellent and the food was very good. Both my companion and I had cheeseburgers for dinner. I had french fries with my dinner and my friend had the sweet potato fries. My friend had a beer and I had ice tea. The burger is extremely good.in taste and size. Our total for the dinner, including tax and tip, was $32. Our waitress was friendly but not too friendly. She came by our table several times asking if we needed refills. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are ecstatic that your experience with us was so terrific! We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    285
    76
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
330 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“You gotta love television”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place has such a nice atmosphere ~ low lighting, cozy booths etc ~ but for some of us, almost wall-to-wall (muted) flatscreen tvs detract from the ambiance as well as the ability to focus on the people & the conversation we enjoy while dining. That said, the food is mostly very good, with decent portions ~ & very spendy prices. Service has run the gamut from excellent to yoo-hoo-come-check-on-us-please. We bring folks here occasionally (the ones who don't mind non-stop tv movement everywhere they look) & they usually come away satisfied.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamaisVu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our "Go To" Restaurant in Cottonwood!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Love the Tavern, we eat here all the time! Excellent food, great service, generous drinks, accommodating staff, lovely renovated building, and lots of TV's!! We bring all our guests here for a nice, casual lunch or dinner. If we are looking to up it a notch, we go across the street to Nic's, the sister restaurant for great seafood and steaks. We also love the Haunted Hamburger and Grapes in Jerome also owned by the same family. They just seem to know how to make consistently good food and drinks in unique and comfortable surroundings. All four restaurants are just excellent!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiki50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you are a regular guest and enjoy all of The Haunted Group's restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from all of your visits. Stop in to any of our restaurants soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner after the train ride.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stopped in here for dinner after our Verde Canyon Railroad trip and were very pleased with the service and the quality of the food. If your in Cottonwood for the train ride stop in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heymrd131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
What a way to end your day! The train ride is simply amazing and we're glad to hear that you chose to dine with us after! We hope to serve you again the next time you are in Cottonwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cool place, decent food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Nice little old town mainstreet location. Food was good if not spectacular. I had the stuffed meatloaf that had been featured on Food Network. It wasn't the best meatloaf ever, but did the job. The portion was extremely large though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank svtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for stopping in and dining with us! We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Grille also viewed

 

Been to Tavern Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing