We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and fun!”
Review of Tavern Grille

Tavern Grille
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Scottsdale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy and fun!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was in Cottonwood last weekend. There happened to be a huge motorcycle event. The street where The Tavern Grille is located was blocked off and FILLED with people. We braved the crowd, because the dinner we had at their sister restaurant the night before was amazing. Well, you can tell that it is the same owners. Not only is the food and atmosphere the same quality, but we saw some of the same employee's. Amy was our server for lunch, AND we had seen her at Nic's the night before. The place was jammin' with bikers, they were super busy, and she was still smiling. Great service and again, three guys in the kitchen!! Amazing! I had the Coconut Shrimp Salad, YUM! and my friend had the Meatloaf sandwich, which I had to taste. So good! We will be back, Thanks!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for dining at Nic's then allowing your taste buds to try the Tavern Grille! We do our best to maintain the same standard at all of our restaurants, so we're glad that you enjoyed both of your experiences with us! We have shared your comments with our staff (at Nic's and the Tavern Grille) and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    285
    76
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The only restaurant in Cottonwood with outdoor seating that does not allow dogs, which I find crazy since Cottonwood is such a dog friendly town. Even though we were disappointed that the dogs could not join us in the outdoor seating area we decided to eat there anyway and have the dogs in our SUV in the closest parking spot to the dinning area (please note: it was not hot out, cloudy and rainy all day and the windows were all open). So we overcame the dog issue and we thought we were in for a treat since we are at Nic's the night before and it was amazing. Our waitress was super nice and friendly, we have no complaint about her but the food was something else. Husband got the filet tips with two different sauces, he wanted the filet cooked mid rare and the steak was overcooked to at least medium. I got the prime rib, again ordered mid rare and it was medium. The prime rib really had no taste and seemed rather tough. We both got red mashed potatoes, husband kept complaining about his and I couldn't understand why because mine were good. When I tried his potatoes they were hard to swallow, there was something very strong tasting in there like vinegar or something. We spent the same amount of money for this dinner as we spent for the amazing dinner at Nic's, this dinner was not worth it at all and we will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieInAZ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We hold the same standards at the Tavern Grille that we do at Nic's and strive to make every guest's experience a positive one. We take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to regain your trust and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went in to this restaurant not sure if we would stay. We're glad we did - my husband thoroughly enjoyed his ahi tuna sald and I loved the ahi tuna wraps. Nice atmosphere as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainloverPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review and giving us a chance to serve you! We are glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your food. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Love this place! The food was great the service was good.Same owners as Nic's across the street. I love old town cottonwood such a great little area. I highly recommend the Tavern for lunch to anyone in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for the excellent feedback. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not always consistent.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Sometimes the food and service is very good, other times not so much. Hard to rate it as it can be very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Tavern Grille, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to make every guest's experience a positive one. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Grille also viewed

 

Been to Tavern Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing