We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and Noisy”
Review of Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pines Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here because it was the only place in town I could get a first floor room to accommodate my 90 year old mother. The floors were so thin, it sounded like we had a heard of elephants over our room. We were woke up at 5:30 am to guys yelling,running down the steps and pounding on the door to the room next to us. Overall not a place I would ever go back to and would not recommend!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Mimiwicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Mimiwicz - Thank you for the response. I'm sorry you had this experience and wish this didn't happen to you. Sometimes inconsiderate guests aren't aware that there are other guests staying also. There are some situations like this we have no control over. I will tell you that our floors are very safe and sturdy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 307 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for one night and were very impressed. Not an example of one of the large motel chains, but a family-run motel offering clean, well-furnished rooms with all the facilities you would expect for a relaxing experience. Within short driving distance to a good selection of restaurants. Congratulations to the management in making our stay very pleasant and peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We strive to keep it simple and keep our rates lower. Clean and affordable with a few extras you wouldn't expect from a motel. Thank you drmjo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed just one night, but all was very good. Had a very clean and comfortable room. Staff was friendly. Had everything we needed, including refrigerator, and a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Drive on in to Jerome, just 10 minutes. Fun old town. Nice winery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam_from_indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, General Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for the review! We try to keep it simple! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

OK - this is not a Kimpton, Ritz or JW Marriott. This is a small Arizona town motel. You will neither find nor need such a property and this place is perfect. The staff was very friendly when checking in and great with directions to local attractions.

Our room had a king bed, although I think queens are available. The room is roughly 12 x 18, so it is adequately spacious. A small table and chairs sits next to a dresser/tv, opposite from the bed. The bath was pretty standard, and it was nice to see a decent sized refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker for the necessities.

The thing I noticed first was this place was CLEAN. The bedding comfortable and no errant odors were detected. OK, I may be somewhat picky, but better to report that, no?!

So what were negatives? Towels were minimal (thankfully in AZ you dry quickly naturally), and there was the in wall AC unit. The little fridge compressor was also a bit noisy. But I have certainly heard worse.

If you are in the area and looking for a comfortable place that won't break the bank - stay here .

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MRMED8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Thunder Valley Bike Ralley. They were booked up for that weekend and left our name on a wait list. That same day a gentlemen called us from the motel and said they had a cancellation. Thanks. My wife is very picky on a clean place to stay so she was very pleased. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikesmith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We will be back to stay here again, definitely. No chain hotel headaches here. Comfortable beds like no other hotel we've used. Locally owned. Nice kitchen area. Close to restaurants and shopping. Owner accommodated us to have our rooms together.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for a couple of days on a recent motorcycle trip. Nice clean room. I slept late into the day with no disturbance. Reasonably priced. Friendly staff. In particular, John was extremely helpful and willing to go out of his way for anything I needed. Good places to eat, and a health food market all within walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you Mo M!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
157 reviews
12.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Camp Verde Arizona
0.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Verde Valley Inn
Verde Valley Inn
#4 of 7 in Cottonwood
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Motel

Address: 920 S Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-4531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range: $92 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill, the Pines Motel boasts beautiful views of the scenic Cottonwood and Verde Valley areas. The Pines Motel is in the middle of it all. We are only 15 minutes from the magnificent red rocks of Sedona, Arizona and Oak Creek Canyon and other popular destinations such as the Verde River, Verde Canyon Railroad, Out of Africa, Cliff Castle Casino, Grand Canyon, Jerome, Clarkdale, Camp Verde, Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. Browse our site and learn about area activities. We have Tesla electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Cottonwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing