We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, attentive waitstaff.”

Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice, attentive waitstaff.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a light, casual early dinner before heading back to our campsite after an almost 400 mile day. The restaurant we had tplanned on was closed but Nic's was a couple doors down. It looked a little "fancy" but from the hostess on, it was very welcoming. We each got a salad and shared an appetizer, delighted to find that appetizers were half off that day. Check the table cards for daily specials. The only grade down was that the shrimp skewer was sort of hard, but still very translucent, sent back (they were very nice) for another minute on the grill and it was still not much different. Everything else was very good. I had a local nut brown ale that I wish I could get my hands on again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for taking a leap of faith with us since your planned restaurant was closed. It sounds like you had a fabulous time! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    165
    43
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nic's is a must stop for dining in cottonwood”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 8 was greeted by a very cheery hostess and quickly seated even though we didn't have reservations. The restaurant was surprisingly busy for a Thursday evening. That was our first clue that this is a wonderful place to eat and drinks Kelly was our waitress for the evening. She immediately introduced herself to our group and explained some of the specials that were not on the menu. She next took our drink orders and returned promptly with our assortment of libations. Kelly then expertly took our meal orders and she obliged our group by making separate checks. Many of us ordered appetizers which are half priced on Thursdays Our order of green lipped muscles was an ample flavorful serving Our group had ordered a variety of entrees and appetizers and the only complaint was that the steak used in the bar steak dish was tough. Even though the flavor was very good the texture detracted. Every member of our party commented about the friendly staff and our very enjoyable dining experience. We all vowed to return again soon

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fifi4facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you and your group had a great time with us! We have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, service, atmosphere”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were looking for a romantic atmosphere and great food. We found it at Nic's. The first time we visited we loved it so much that we returned as soon as we were able. After THAT visit we decided that we had to bring my parents for my mom's birthday. It doesn't matter what we've ordered it all has been excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you love our restaurant and were able to share it with others! We appreciate your loyalty! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great steaks in Old Cottonwood”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had their Tuesday night filet special with baked potato and salad. It was a special for an great price. All were excellent and the service was prompt and very professional. The place was packed and very popular among locals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GardeningBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for taking advantage of Tuesday night's special! It's one of our favorites. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner here on Monday night. Our server was friendly and took excellent care of us. My husband ordered the clam chowder, which was excellent. His shrimp scampi was loaded with tender shrimp; he said it was one of the best meals of our vacation. I had the salmon topped with spinach and artichokes, also excellent. Monday must have been martini night, because the whole page of martini offerings were $3.50, so I enjoyed a mudslide for "dessert." Our server gave us a coupon for any of the other restaurants under the same management. Turns out we'd been to one in Jerome a couple of days earlier -- just as great a dining experience!

Helpful?
Thank Teri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so happy that we were able to enhance your vacation experience! You both made great choices for dinner! We hope you'll visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing