We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nic's had good food.

The atmosphere was far too dark for older people, especially as we needed a table, not the high booths. The only lights were over the booths. The staff had flashlights available to see the menu, but they were needed to see the food too. One guest ordered salmon and could not even tell when the dish was placed down that it was something else. The correct order was brought as quickly as possible.

Attention from staff was excellent, minus the one order mixup.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelsFromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for letting us know of your recent experience with us! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food but were disappointed to hear that you found our restaurant too dark and would have preferred a table. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    165
    43
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great eats”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The bq ribs and rib eye with risotto hit the spot. Entrees were large enough for us to pass up what looked like awesome deserts. The nights special cocktails hit the spot...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiehonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, loved it”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went there because it was part of our package to stay at the Tavern Hotel. Wow! is all I can say. We usually split a dinner. Pasta sounded good and we had Carbonara. For a few dollars more we each had a choice of soup or salad. My husband chose clam chowder and I chose a salad. My salad was huge and delicious and of course I had a spoonful of his clam chowder and it was delicious as well. When our pasta arrived, I couldn't believe the size of the 1/2 portions. It was also delicious. We ended up bringing home half of it and we had it last night. It was still delicious. Our server was Sarah and she was wonderful. When we go back, we'll ask for her table. The manager, Chris, also stopped for a visit. He was just as friendly as Sarah. We live a couple of hours away, so we won't go often, but the next time we visit, we'll be sure to go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackandkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your excellent feedback! We are delighted that you enjoy our restaurant and that you are a regular guest. Be sure to stop in at Nic's as they have great food as well. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Marvelous!... Marvelous!... Marvelous!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I initially found the restaurant on Trip Advisor, and decided that we would go there for a nice dinner.... Boy, were we PLEASED!

* GREAT Décor... Dark, Classic/old-school "Supper-club" feel

* GREAT Service!... Smiling/knowledgeable waitress + the Manager checked in with us... and the bus boys?? Well, they checked our table numerous times thru out the evening! Nice job!

* GREAT Menu/Specials!... We went on a Monday and enjoyed the $3.50 BELVIDERE MARTINIS! Small (standard) pour, but a great martini offering, and they used a higher end vodka!...YUMMM! The menu had a wide range, and I had to try the rack of ribs, while my wife had the Lasagna... BOTH WERE DELLICIOUS! ... The best part? Only $65 for 4 martinis, appetizer, Lasagna, Ribs!

WE WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK THERE AGAIN WHEN VISITING COTTONWOOD... We live in Carefree, AZ. and occasionally go to Sedona, Jerome, Cottonwood, so NIC'S ITALIAN IS WORTH THE DRIVE FROM ANY OF THESE PLACES!

"Fagetabout" the rest... GO TO NIC'S!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank azhotdogdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Wow! We are ecstatic that your experience with us was so terrific! We have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Last night in Cottonwood???”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sandy and I came here on, if my memory serves me correctly, our last night in Cottonwood. We both like Italian aht Nic's filled the bill. Good food, nice service, and even a visit by the owner. If we return, I'm sure we will come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Nic's! We hope you dine with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Nic's Italian Steak & Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing