We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try this hotel near Old Town Cottonwood”
Review of Cottonwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottonwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Phoenix
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Try this hotel near Old Town Cottonwood”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Hotel originally built in 1917, rustic and clean. Great place to stay if you are hanging out in old town cottonwood

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    24
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
51
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

At first we had a hard time finding the hotel...no fault of hotel - Google maps did not have it mapped properly. Upon meeting the owner operator, Karen, she is super friendly and welcoming! She made this the greatest experience. She takes you on a personal guided tour of the property. Karen goes into the history of the location and surroundings. She has poured her heart/soul into this place...and it shows! Our room was unit #1. It was a little smaller than I was thinking but it was perfect for the two of us. Very clean! We have bad backs and the bed was awesome! Very comfortable! On our tour she explained where the best places to eat and get coffee were and even had coupons for discounts. We had arranged a tour of our own and realized that driving afterward would be out of the question. She offered to give us a ride to and from. She had even taken the time to get us copies of maps and different activities around town we could do on the following day. I would absolutely return for another stay without question.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabal69e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My Husband and I stayed in the Mae West suite of the historic Cottonwood Hotel. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. We were not expecting anything so lovely and charming. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind after a long day of wine tasting and trips to both Jerome and Sedona. The bathtub (clawfoot soaker) was great and I think the one Mae West used to use (I NEVER take baths at hotels but this place was extremely clean and even a germaphobe like myself was able to relax). The hotel is within walking distance of a couple very friendly tasting rooms with extremely kind staff - Stronghold and Pilsbury, as well as restaurants and across the street from a friendly honky-tonk with a local brew on tap. I would recommend this place to anyone who thinks that the regular hotel chains are just boring or overpriced and not up to par - The Cottonwood Hotel has soul, history, and great charm - we will definitely be back some day and will spread the word.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The Cottonwood Hotel is a gem in the sleepy town of Cottonwood, AZ. Situated in the Historical District of Cottonwood, this hotel is the cornerstone of a revitalization in the area. While the outside of the hotel is a bit generic, you can see that a lot of TLC has been given to updating the rooms. All are clean, and quiet. Most have kichenettes with refrigerator, and microwave. Karen, the owner was an excellent host and filled me in on the history while we shared some wine on the second floor patio. The patio is a great place to relax and overlooks Main streets restaurants and shops. The location is perfect to walk to several very good restaurants. Also within walking distance are 2 new Wine Tasting Rooms. Arizona wines(Yep!) from Pillsbury and Arizona Stronghold are featured. Great access to Sedona, Jerome and other sites in the Verde Valley. Man, you gotta get some here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscottmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Feels like staying with family..Karen was a great host and the room was real fine.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I came down to experience Cottonwood and decide if we liked it enough to invest there and possibly retire there. I loved my stay at the Hotel. The Cottonwood Hotel is right on main street in historic old-town cottonwood. A nice thing about Cottonwood is that the primary thoroughfare through Cottonwood is NOT Main Street. Thus, comparatively quiet Main Street serves the resturaunts, cafes, hotel, book shops, antique shops, bakery, and winery on Main Street. Across the street from the hotel, is Nics Steak and Crab Cake House. I had one of the best Chicken Picata dishes ever there. I understand people come from Sedona to eat there. I found the entire Main Street experience to be quiet and safe.
The owner, Karen, is very helpful. She stayed up late to accomodate my late arrival and then demonstrated all of the features of my room and the cooking facilities.
My room was beautifully renovated and comfortable. I was in the smallest room available and loved it. One can tell this room was remodelled slowly and with care. Anyone who has painted trim or remodelled a bathroom will appreciate the attention to details.
Cottonwood is a nice community. From there, one can easily go over to Sedona to enjoy the unbelievable beauty and the hiking and biking. From there, one can go up to Jerome to enjoy a haunted burger and wonder about the hillside construction and history. But, its nice to come back to the quiet of the Cottonwood Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2009

I was recently in Cottonwood attending an event at the Mago Resort which was sold out of rooms. I fell in love with this place because of its unique, old history and homey characteristics. Karen, the proprietor, was so accommodating. The kitchenettes were so helpful to save money on food and well stocked with pots, dishes, flatware, containers to go and cooking utensils. I asked if she had a blender to make smoothies and when she did not went out to buy one before I arrived. Now that's special service! The hotel filled up with other attendees from the conference and we became like a close knit community for the week we stayed in Arizona. One of the residents became sick and Karen made soup for them. When I needed help with directions and recommendations Karen was a wealth of detailed information. She even had walking sticks for me to use during the hikes. As for the rooms, they are immaculate and cozy with beds that are a dream. The drive to Sedona is easy and actually would prefer staying here because of the reduced commercialism on the street the hotel is located. The prices were so reasonable (especially if you share it with a roommate) and what you get compared to a chain hotel is so much more that I felt spoiled. Small touches such as organic shampoos, organic dish soaps, and filtered water showed how mindful she was about being ecologically clean. If you would like warm personal service in a well cared for environment this is the place for you!! If you are on a budget then this is perfect!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
0.1 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Hotel

Property: Cottonwood Hotel
Address: 930 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottonwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottonwood Hotel, since 1917, is a small boutique hotel with the largest units in town. Located in downtown (Old Town) Cottonwood, Arizona and listed on the United States National Preservation Cottonwood Commercial Historic District of Historical Places to stay. 5 units in the upper floor hotel include 1 standard room, 2 deluxe rooms, 2 apartment style suites. Main floor includes 2BR/2BA apartment suite, queen studio suite and a double queen room. Walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, pubs, wine tasting rooms (biggest section of the Verde Valley Wine Trail), eclectic shops, antiques and galleries, hiking trails, Verde River, state park. Jerome 6 miles, Sedona 16 miles, Clarkdale 1 mile, Verde Canyon train 3 miles, Page Springs/Cornville Vineyards 6 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cottonwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing