We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sedona location with an authentic touch”
Review of Cottonwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottonwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Sedona location with an authentic touch”
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Lovely Cottonwood is just a bit further along than Sedona town and it's well worth it to miss the tourist trap and enjoy an unspoilt bit of this lovely part of the country. The hotel owners are friendly and go out of their way to ensure your stay is enjoyable. If you're fed up with the chain hotels and want a more genuine US experience, this is the one for you. Old Cottonwood is a lovely little town with charming restaurants and cafe's and well located for visits to historical Jerome and Montazuma's Castle. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    24
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
51
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wellington,
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed three nights in Cottonwood hotel - 2 more than originally planned. Karen is a wonderful hostess and gave us great advice about where to go for hiking, sightseeing and dining.
The best thing about this hotel is that it is original and homey. If you want widescreen large plasma tv and king size beds then this is not the place for you. But if you want a real Arizona experience then try Cottonwood hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2009

As I travel constantly for business for long periods of time extended stay accomidations are what I prefer. The Cottonwood Hotel is right next to 2 of the best resturants in Cottonwood. The hotel is clean quite and located in a good neighborhood. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone either for long term or nightly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We spent 3 nights in this charming old hotel. We were made very much welcome, the room was very clean, the kitchenette well stocked, and the location, convenient. There were several good restaurants within walking distance, and cute local shops to wander thru. There is also a gym close by. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenthere011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Check into this quaint and incognito hotel and participate in the dynamic exchange of giving and receiving. The owner- Karen, the location- Main Street, the ambiance of the 1925 building all create a positive flow of energy. Ideas and good times circulate from this hotel- you will leave rested and changed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I recently had the privilige of spending 3 days and 2 nights in the Historic Cottonwood Hotel in the heart of old town Cottonwood, AZ. From my first conversation with Karen...to my check-out...she was a pleasure to deal with. This landmark hotel is a step back in time, wood floors, clawfoot tub, antique fixtures and furnishings. Memories of days gone by abound throughout the hotel. The rates were great, the accomidations were a breath of fresh air.....I almost forgot the breath taking view from the community balcony where you can enjoy the sites and sounds of historic downtown Cottonwood....

3 Thumbs Up!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trigger241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The Cottonwood Hotel has become my “home away from home” during my extended stays in Cottonwood. It’s perfect for me because I’m a single traveling business woman. The price is AMAZING considering its prime location in the Verde Valley. Nestled between beautiful Sedona and Jerome, it is centrally located and just a few steps from the local Athletic Club, within walking distance to the hospital, city and state parks, hiking trails, popular restaurants, bakeries, cafés, galleries, antique shops, in a diverse and eclectic western town. The hotel is small with a half dozen charming suites that are updated & clean and the furnished kitchen/kitchenette suit my needs for a cozy atmosphere while I’m traveling. For over a decade, Karen, the owner and her partner Gregory have kept this well kept secret alive which has been providing a valuable connection to us visitors and passer’s by. Karen’s knowledge of the history and the present day services of this town have helped me develop an intimate relationship with Cottonwood. The historic hotel is not your typical boring place to stay, as you get your own apartment suite instead of a stale, cheap motel room. I enjoy having the SECURE high speed internet, laundry facilities, assigned parking and ( my favorite thing) after a drink at the local tavern it's a short walk “home” where I sit on the common balcony overlooking Main Street and unwind, contemplate the day and enjoy the beautiful night sky. When I’m asked where I’m staying, I’m surprised that many locals aren’t even aware of this overlooked treasure that is right in their own back yard!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
0.1 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Cottonwood
Super 8 Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Hotel

Property: Cottonwood Hotel
Address: 930 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottonwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottonwood Hotel, since 1917, is a small boutique hotel with the largest units in town. Located in downtown (Old Town) Cottonwood, Arizona and listed on the United States National Preservation Cottonwood Commercial Historic District of Historical Places to stay. 5 units in the upper floor hotel include 1 standard room, 2 deluxe rooms, 2 apartment style suites. Main floor includes 2BR/2BA apartment suite, queen studio suite and a double queen room. Walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, pubs, wine tasting rooms (biggest section of the Verde Valley Wine Trail), eclectic shops, antiques and galleries, hiking trails, Verde River, state park. Jerome 6 miles, Sedona 16 miles, Clarkdale 1 mile, Verde Canyon train 3 miles, Page Springs/Cornville Vineyards 6 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cottonwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing