We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go local”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottonwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottonwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Go local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had just driven past the Best Western, and we wanted to consider all options. Google showed that the Cottonwood hotel had the best reviews, so my girlfriend and I called from the road and Karen (the owner of the hotel) answered and was very open and communicative. We were coming out of Sedona and figured we would find a better, more economic alternative than staying in Sedona, and we were right! Karen showed us a couple rooms, and we settled on the Wine room. The room was very clean and cutely decorated, with extra comfortable linens and bedding. Good shower with hot water and good pressure. And Karen couldn't have been nicer. She was very accommodating and we took her restaurant recommendations which were excellent. I was quite surprised to see how far Cottonwood has come since the 80s. I never would have thought that I would have had such an enjoyable experience in Cottonwood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Our "Wine Room' (Deluxe) is a popular choice with guests. We take pride in our comfort, and are asked by many when they leave... "Where did you get your sheets and mattress?" "It was our best night sleep ever!" And we are only 15 minutes from Sedona...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
48
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Loved Karen's hospitality at the Cottonwood Hotel in historic Old Town Cottonwood. Had plenty of room in a downstairs suite with all the kitchen amenities. It is centrally located right by several great restaurants and walking trails. We will definitely be coming back (and they are dog friendly too)!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Creek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Our Vacation Suite #7 'the Good Life' is available for those traveling with dogs. It is a well-appointed open studio with a kitchen. The modern split bathroom may work better for some, as it is not as small as the historic bathrooms in the original upstairs hotel/inn. I am happy to hear that these guests enjoyed their stay and took the time to write us a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Greeted by Karen at our arrival, she gave us a tour of our room, and described the history of the hotel, and provided some recommendations for tasting rooms and dinner. We booked/stayed in the John Wayne room, it was exactly as described and perfect for a comfy getaway. Impressively clean! The kitchenette was well stocked with everything one might need... The tea selection was excellent, and we used the toaster for bagels for breakfast. The location can't be beat. Right on historic Main Street, we walked to wine tasting rooms, a great new beer store/bar, and restaurants.

Room Tip: John Wayne is on the historic Main Street side, next to the balcony, which would be a great place fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinecaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We always appreciate our guests taking the time to write us a review and happy to hear that our little historic hotel/inn was a comfortable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked and slept in the "Dusk" room for New Year's Eve 2013. The room was as described but just perfect for our stay. The bed was comfortable, the bedding fresh and so soft, DEEP claw foot bathtub (where John Wayne soaked his rump), plenty of plush towels, a mini frig, coffee maker and small closet nook with provided clothes hangers, even cable TV with DVD player and provided DVD's. Our room also had a ceiling fan, adjustable thermostat, wall air conditioner, sideboard and small bench. The "Dusk" room has two windows, one over the bed which faces the back of the hotel and one window faces the side street. Our stay was quiet and comfy.

Karen has eye for detail and it shows in the little things provided for comfort in the rooms. Being New Year's Eve, she spoiled us with Champagne splits and orange juice for Mimosa's and also tickets to the Pillsbury wine tasting room. There is an upstairs outside porch/balcony overlooking the street which is shared with all guests and the view from there is great to Main Street below.

We'll be coming back again to stay in the "Skywatch Suite", a room which has tiny lights in the ceiling that illuminate in the dark, your own private constellation!

Thank you so much Karen and Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a kind review. I was happy to hear that our smallest room was comfortable enough for you and that you appreciated the New Years extra perks of champagne & orange juice. We look forward to your next stay with us in our Sky Watch Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Cottonwood hotel was pinnacle of our first trip to Arizona. We love unique (funky) inns. The Cottonwood Hotel is almost 100 years old but it wears its age well. The décor is rather "shabby chic." Each room is unique. We stayed in the Sky Room which in addition to the telescope in the room (to check out the view of the Sedona) the bedroom is equipped with a cool "starlight" projector! Karen (the owner) is wonderful. She is very accommodating. The Cottonwood Hotel is smack-dab in the middle of the old town area. There are several wine tasting rooms, bars, restaurants, antique shops, etc.

Room Tip: The hotel boasts "John Wayne" and "May West" rooms where the stars stayed. Karen...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Marc_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks Doc! Appreciate the great review! I'm happy to hear that my little hotel/inn worked out for your short and first visit to Arizona! Always appreciate guests supporting small businesses and those loving to check out historic hotels and properties. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed in the Mae West room. It was fantastic. Close to everything in Cottonwood and Karen was tremendously helpful. We got great recommendations on the best restaurants and wine tasting places in town. Learned a little bit about the history and she gave a great tour. The room was in excellent condition and the furniture made you feel like you were back in the Old West. The deck gave a great view of the town and the sky. I wish we had spent an additional night so that we could enjoy more time in town and relax on the deck.

Room Tip: The Mae West room is worth the value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Yes, the Mae West Deluxe Room is always a favorite among guests. Many enjoy the same clawfoot tub that John Wayne enjoyed soaking in when he romanced here... I try my best in blending the new amenities and comforts of home with the classic feel of yesterday. Thank you for your appreciation and choosing us for your stay, as each stay with us supports small business and historic preservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We love antiques and old buildings! The Cottonwood Hotel was the perfect choice for us! The owner Karen was awesome! When making our reservations I mentioned it was our Anniversary and when we arrived ,we picked The Mae West room, Karen had made swans formed into a heart ,with an Anniversary card and some mints! The room was perfect! The bed was so comfortable, and the sheets and comforter of the highest quality! We loved the small bathroom with the claw foot tub that John Wayne soaked in, with its thick bath towels to organic soaps! We wanted for nothing! Whenever I had a question Karen was there to answer it with a smile on her face! She is very Knowledgable and knows her history! She recommended a couple places to eat and see. She also have us gift card to use at The Wild Rose Tea House! Where the owner Christina makes wonderful cupcakes from scratch thousand of teas, and offered to drive us back to our hotel because it had gotten cold nd I forgot my jacket! Regrets? You bet! And that is only that because of our work schedules we couldn't stay longer! We will be back!

Room Tip: Mae West was the perfect romantic getaway! Also toured the John Wayne room, both had sitting areas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you kindly for your wonderful review. I was happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and my little historic hotel worked out for you and you had a great time in old town. I appreciate those who notice and enjoy all those little extras and the historic attributes as much as I. Thanks again. I look forward to your next visit with us here at the Cottonwood Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
0.1 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Hotel

Property: Cottonwood Hotel
Address: 930 N. Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottonwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottonwood Hotel, circa 1917, is a small boutique hotel in downtown (Old Town) Cottonwood, AZ, listed on the United States National Preservation Cottonwood Commercial Historic District of Historical Places to stay. We have 5 units in the upper floor hotel available by the night. 1 Small room, 2 deluxe rooms, 1 small suite, and 1 apartment style suite. Below the hotel is a 2BR/2BA apartment suite, studio suite and a double queen. Walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, pubs, wine tasting rooms (biggest section of the Verde Valley Wine Trail),eclectic shops, antiques and galleries, hiking trails, Verde River, state park. Jerome 6 miles, Sedona 16 miles, Clarkdale 1 mile, Verde Canyon train 3 miles, Page Springs/Cornville Vineyards 6 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottonwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing