We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”
Review of Cottonwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottonwood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Greeted by Karen at our arrival, she gave us a tour of our room, and described the history of the hotel, and provided some recommendations for tasting rooms and dinner. We booked/stayed in the John Wayne room, it was exactly as described and perfect for a comfy getaway. Impressively clean! The kitchenette was well stocked with everything one might need... The tea selection was excellent, and we used the toaster for bagels for breakfast. The location can't be beat. Right on historic Main Street, we walked to wine tasting rooms, a great new beer store/bar, and restaurants.

Room Tip: John Wayne is on the historic Main Street side, next to the balcony, which would be a great place fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinecaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We always appreciate our guests taking the time to write us a review and happy to hear that our little historic hotel/inn was a comfortable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked and slept in the "Dusk" room for New Year's Eve 2013. The room was as described but just perfect for our stay. The bed was comfortable, the bedding fresh and so soft, DEEP claw foot bathtub (where John Wayne soaked his rump), plenty of plush towels, a mini frig, coffee maker and small closet nook with provided clothes hangers, even cable TV with DVD player and provided DVD's. Our room also had a ceiling fan, adjustable thermostat, wall air conditioner, sideboard and small bench. The "Dusk" room has two windows, one over the bed which faces the back of the hotel and one window faces the side street. Our stay was quiet and comfy.

Karen has eye for detail and it shows in the little things provided for comfort in the rooms. Being New Year's Eve, she spoiled us with Champagne splits and orange juice for Mimosa's and also tickets to the Pillsbury wine tasting room. There is an upstairs outside porch/balcony overlooking the street which is shared with all guests and the view from there is great to Main Street below.

We'll be coming back again to stay in the "Skywatch Suite", a room which has tiny lights in the ceiling that illuminate in the dark, your own private constellation!

Thank you so much Karen and Happy New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a kind review. I was happy to hear that our smallest room was comfortable enough for you and that you appreciated the New Years extra perks of champagne & orange juice. We look forward to your next stay with us in our Sky Watch Suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Cottonwood hotel was pinnacle of our first trip to Arizona. We love unique (funky) inns. The Cottonwood Hotel is almost 100 years old but it wears its age well. The décor is rather "shabby chic." Each room is unique. We stayed in the Sky Room which in addition to the telescope in the room (to check out the view of the Sedona) the bedroom is equipped with a cool "starlight" projector! Karen (the owner) is wonderful. She is very accommodating. The Cottonwood Hotel is smack-dab in the middle of the old town area. There are several wine tasting rooms, bars, restaurants, antique shops, etc.

Room Tip: The hotel boasts "John Wayne" and "May West" rooms where the stars stayed. Karen...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dr_Marc_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks Doc! Appreciate the great review! I'm happy to hear that my little hotel/inn worked out for your short and first visit to Arizona! Always appreciate guests supporting small businesses and those loving to check out historic hotels and properties. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed in the Mae West room. It was fantastic. Close to everything in Cottonwood and Karen was tremendously helpful. We got great recommendations on the best restaurants and wine tasting places in town. Learned a little bit about the history and she gave a great tour. The room was in excellent condition and the furniture made you feel like you were back in the Old West. The deck gave a great view of the town and the sky. I wish we had spent an additional night so that we could enjoy more time in town and relax on the deck.

Room Tip: The Mae West room is worth the value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Yes, the Mae West Deluxe Room is always a favorite among guests. Many enjoy the same clawfoot tub that John Wayne enjoyed soaking in when he romanced here... I try my best in blending the new amenities and comforts of home with the classic feel of yesterday. Thank you for your appreciation and choosing us for your stay, as each stay with us supports small business and historic preservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We love antiques and old buildings! The Cottonwood Hotel was the perfect choice for us! The owner Karen was awesome! When making our reservations I mentioned it was our Anniversary and when we arrived ,we picked The Mae West room, Karen had made swans formed into a heart ,with an Anniversary card and some mints! The room was perfect! The bed was so comfortable, and the sheets and comforter of the highest quality! We loved the small bathroom with the claw foot tub that John Wayne soaked in, with its thick bath towels to organic soaps! We wanted for nothing! Whenever I had a question Karen was there to answer it with a smile on her face! She is very Knowledgable and knows her history! She recommended a couple places to eat and see. She also have us gift card to use at The Wild Rose Tea House! Where the owner Christina makes wonderful cupcakes from scratch thousand of teas, and offered to drive us back to our hotel because it had gotten cold nd I forgot my jacket! Regrets? You bet! And that is only that because of our work schedules we couldn't stay longer! We will be back!

Room Tip: Mae West was the perfect romantic getaway! Also toured the John Wayne room, both had sitting areas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review. I was happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and my little historic hotel worked out for you and you had a great time in old town. I appreciate those who notice and enjoy all those little extras and the historic attributes as much as I. Thanks again. I look forward to your next visit with us here at the Cottonwood Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just recently took organized a couple ride on motorcycles through Arizona. We were looking for a places to stay that would allow our group to gather and feel like we could be a group. This place was perfect. We had the entire upstairs to ourselves, plus they had a great deck out front that overlooked the main street, which made for a great place to relax and have a little social hour. The rooms were very nice and clean. Don't let the outside fool you when you pull up. It's a great place to stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: My wife and I had the wine room which was very nice. We saw all the rooms and you can't go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for choosing the historic Cottonwood Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to write us a nice review. I was happy to hear that we worked out for your large group. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoy Arizona history. Before you arrive at Cottonwood Hotel you are given a choice of accommodations and then your own parking spot. When you arrive, you are given a tour by the owner, Karen, who delights in telling of her love for her hotel and the Cottonwood area. It’s charm comes out in the room you might have selected with wood floors and decor that fits the room name; ours was the Mae West Room. Karen has decorated and updated the room so you feel you have stepped back in time; yet, at the same time, including the high speed internet, Direct TV, frig, microwave, etc. Bathroom is “true to the times” small with claw-footed bath tub, yet, has a good shower head and great luxury towels and amenities. The hotel is in a prime location to the Verde Valley, Jerome, Sedona, Tuzigoot Nat’l Monument, Blazin’ M Ranch, wine tasting rooms and a great museum we discovered called Clemenceau Heritage Museum. Great restaurants across or down Main Street from Nic’s Italian Steak & Crab House to Bing’s Burger Station in a 40s full-service gas station. There is unique shopping all up and down Main Street; our favorite was Larry’s Antiques. The Cottonwood Hotel balcony was a relaxing place to unwind and share the day’s experiences with other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the Cottonwood Hotel such an awesome review and share with others your Old Town experience. I was delighted to hear that you had a great time and greatly appreciate your support for our cultural heritage. Thanks again for choosing us for your lodging needs. Hope to see you again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Hotel

Address: 930 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range: $160 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottonwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottonwood Hotel, since 1917, is a small boutique hotel with the largest units in town. Located in downtown (Old Town) Cottonwood, Arizona and listed on the United States National Preservation Cottonwood Commercial Historic District of Historical Places to stay. 5 units in the upper floor hotel include 1 standard room, 2 deluxe rooms, 2 apartment style suites. Main floor includes 2BR/2BA apartment suite, queen studio suite and a double queen room. Walk to breakfast, lunch, dinner, pubs, wine tasting rooms (biggest section of the Verde Valley Wine Trail), eclectic shops, antiques and galleries, hiking trails, Verde River, state park. Jerome 6 miles, Sedona 16 miles, Clarkdale 1 mile, Verde Canyon train 3 miles, Page Springs/Cornville Vineyards 6 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottonwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing