We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottonwood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Cottonwood Inn(Cottonwood)(Great Value!)
$115
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Verde Valley Inn(Cottonwood)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pines Motel(Cottonwood)
$103
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tavern Hotel(Cottonwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Daisy Motel(Cottonwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
92
26
4
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
26
4
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn waynemain streetold townshared balconywine tastingmodern amenitiesgreat danelocal historystep back in timesmack dab in the middlekitchen areawalking distancesitting roomwood floorsperfect locationcheck in was easyantique shopping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 128 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of my friends recommended that we stay at Cottonwood Hotel during our tour of Cottonwood & Sedona, Arizona. My friend had stayed in the "May West Room" and said it was fabulous. We had the most amazing time during our stay at Cottonwood Hotel and it was only a 15 minute drive to Sedona. This hotel has a historical past, was very clean & quiet and beautifully decorated. The hotel is located on Main Street (in Cottonwood, AZ) which is lined with plenty of wonderful shops and great restaurants. The Innkeeper, Karen (and her friend Gregory), were so warm & friendly that we felt we had always known them. Karen is very knowledgeable about the history of the area & the hotel. She provides wonderful tours and wine tasting. The rooms were reasonably priced. Anything you need and Karen is there to help. We plan on staying there again on our next trip, I would not stay anywhere else! Had a great time....Thanks Karen!

Room Tip: All the rooms had so much character!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you Angelah for taking the time to write us a nice review. We really enjoyed meeting you and your friends and enjoyed our short visits together. I was happy to hear that our unit_1 worked for 3 adults, as its mostly set up for a small family. We feel like we've made new friends and indeed look forward to your next trip to the Verde Valley, Cottonwood-Sedona area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The overall experience was enjoyable. Karen is very friendly and personable. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. A couple of the appliances in the room need servicing. There are several good eating establishments within walking distance of the hotel, and the people in the ones we visited made visitors feel welcome in their town. If in the area again, we would stay at this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you Melanie for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. I do wish that you would have made us aware of any appliance that wasn't working. All of our appliances are new. I am still not sure to what appliance you are referring to, and I am not quite sure what unit you stayed in. I am guessing that maybe you might have tried to use one of our induction cook-tops. We do keep the breaker off to those, unless someone request the use, as they are seldom used, but are available. Even though we don't keep office hours 24/7 (reason why we are called Specialty Lodging), we are still always available by phone and do live on the premises. I do look forward to your next stay and would only hope that if something isn;t working you will let us know, so that we can make your stay more enjoyable. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Love this little hotel. The bed was very comfrotable and the towels were very plush. Felt like I was staying at a friend's house! The room also had a large selection of teas, coffee and complimentary water. The location right downtown was a real bonus. I got a chance to see the other rooms, and all were updated and decorated very nicely. Look forward to another visit. Owner Karen was very gracious and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. It is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again, when you are back up this way. Don't forget to use our frequent customer discount code. Thanks again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Thank you Karen for your hospitality. The Mae West suite was exactly perfect for Ms. Brannigan and I. Exceptionally romantic and very well kept and equipped, From the original wood floors to the claw foot tub, even the decor.

If you are staying anywhere in the Verde Valley area on a romantic getaway and don't stay here, you missed the mark. Ms. Brannigan and I plan to return as often as possible.

Thanks,

Marshall

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center, just a quaint hotel. Marked it excellent because there is NO way I could mark anything about this weekend poorly, especially The Cottonwood Hotel...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauimarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Owner at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much Marshall for taking the time to give the historic Cottonwood Hotel such a nice review! I was so delighted to hear that our Mae West Suite worked for your special romantic weekend with Ms. Brannigan. We appreciate both your comments and your supporting our little hotel. As each stay with us supports our small business and our continued preservation project, we strive to keep adding to your Old Town experience for future visits. Please use our VIG code to take advantage of our Very Important Guests (repeat guests incentives)... Thanks again. I look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A stay over is a necessity when wine tasting up north and after enjoying tastings at a couple of winiries and then some of the tasting rooms along Main St. In old town Downtown Cottonwood retiring to the Cottonwood Hotel was the perfect answer. Karen the owner is everything. She answers the phone, prepares the room, greets you and is a historian on top of it all. She's wonderful and what makes your stay at the hotel a success.

The hotel is a historic building and is being restored by the owner. John Wayne, Mae West and other celebrities of days gone by have stayed with pictures and their stories filling the lobby.

We had the Mae West suite. The suite was clean and appointed well, the living room/ kitchenette area included a fridge, microwave and small sink/kitchen area separate to the bedroom. A newer platform bed with a foam mattress was quite comfortable. The bathroom, though very tiny accommodated us just fine.

For an evening or even a weekend the suite would be a good respite. It's situated perfectly downtown and allows for easy roaming among all the shops, restaurants and tasting rooms that old town has to offer. If there's a negative it's the music across the street that plays well into the night at the bar.

Bottom line, yes we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 603laurena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood_Hotel_930, Manager at Cottonwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Lauren

I greatly appreciate that you took the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the historic Cottonwood Hotel. I want to thank you again for choosing us for your recent stay in Cottonwood. I look forward to your next visit with us and please be sure to use our repeat guests online discount.

Karen J. Leff/Management
Cottonwood Hotel, Cottonwood Arizona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews