We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely unexpected!!”
Review of Schoolhouse Restaurant - CLOSED

Schoolhouse Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cottonwood Schoolhouse is closed while we are transitioning to a new building in old town Cottonwood. We are currently serving all of our incredible guests from our Village of Oak Creek Location.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

One of the best nights out we have had in a long time! Definitely recommend the artichoke appetizers, and the Bucco pork with a macaroni "dangerously good but addicting macaroni" was excellent! The staff was excellent and friendly would recommend for sure! A totally unexpected combination of flavors that kept my tastebuds jumping!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sedonative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you for the review! It was our pleasure to serve you and loo forward to seeing you more in the future.
Best regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very comfortable atmosphere, outstanding service and the innovative variety of choices on the menu. Everything was very fresh and so delicious ! I would certainly return, as well as, promote it to others. It was a delightful surprise !

Thank justaluckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you so much for the review! We are always trying to meet or exceed expectations and I am happy to see we did so with your group. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Kind regard's, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by Schoolhouse Restaurant on the recommendation of our wine tour guide Luke. Did not have a reservation (mistake- u should make one ) but the chef- Dave- did not turn us away. Instead offered us the chefs table which we thoroughly enjoyed!! Tried 3 appetizers and 4 different meals / all were so wonderful! I had the chicken with blue corn waffles- the BEST! Will definitely be back with my husband.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hawkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you ladies for joining us on such a special weekend. I am so happy we were able to get you in. Thank you also for taking the time to review us. Congratulations on the wedding and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Also thank you Luke!
Best regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We brought in some "newbies" last night, and they can't WAIT to come back and bring more of their friends. Once again, Schoolhouse WOW'd us with the tastes, textures, and food combinations we could never DREAM of. EVERYONE at our table said their food was cooked to PERFECTION! Such a great evening of dining with the Schoolhouse staff. THANKS for a perfect evening!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for allowing us to serve you! We always enjoy having you and your incredible friends and family in. We look forward to many more years of providing service. Oh and thank you for the review :).
Warm regard's, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

From the salad to the coffee...they do it right! The restaurant is clean, the service is welcoming and attentive, and the chef is right on target with all their offerings. I had the shrimp and grits (probably the best grits I've ever had!) and my husband had the chicken and waffles (he's a Southern boy and he gave them two thumbs up!). The kale and spinach salad was excellent - fresh and yummy. Hannah P. was our waitress and we received the best service of any restaurant we've visited in the Verde Valley! The seating arrangements are a little funky, but the overall quality makes that a non-issue. Thanks for a lovely evening out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DLA2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for a great review! We try our best in everything we do that is for sure, now only if I could get a better building we could really live up to the potential. We look forward to having you in for many more great evenings.
Best regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing