We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelorette Weekend”
Review of Schoolhouse Restaurant - CLOSED

Schoolhouse Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cottonwood Schoolhouse is closed while we are transitioning to a new building in old town Cottonwood. We are currently serving all of our incredible guests from our Village of Oak Creek Location.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bachelorette Weekend”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by Schoolhouse Restaurant on the recommendation of our wine tour guide Luke. Did not have a reservation (mistake- u should make one ) but the chef- Dave- did not turn us away. Instead offered us the chefs table which we thoroughly enjoyed!! Tried 3 appetizers and 4 different meals / all were so wonderful! I had the chicken with blue corn waffles- the BEST! Will definitely be back with my husband.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you ladies for joining us on such a special weekend. I am so happy we were able to get you in. Thank you also for taking the time to review us. Congratulations on the wedding and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Also thank you Luke!
Best regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    29
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing dining experience once again!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We brought in some "newbies" last night, and they can't WAIT to come back and bring more of their friends. Once again, Schoolhouse WOW'd us with the tastes, textures, and food combinations we could never DREAM of. EVERYONE at our table said their food was cooked to PERFECTION! Such a great evening of dining with the Schoolhouse staff. THANKS for a perfect evening!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to serve you! We always enjoy having you and your incredible friends and family in. We look forward to many more years of providing service. Oh and thank you for the review :).
Warm regard's, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top Notch Everything!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

From the salad to the coffee...they do it right! The restaurant is clean, the service is welcoming and attentive, and the chef is right on target with all their offerings. I had the shrimp and grits (probably the best grits I've ever had!) and my husband had the chicken and waffles (he's a Southern boy and he gave them two thumbs up!). The kale and spinach salad was excellent - fresh and yummy. Hannah P. was our waitress and we received the best service of any restaurant we've visited in the Verde Valley! The seating arrangements are a little funky, but the overall quality makes that a non-issue. Thanks for a lovely evening out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLA2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for a great review! We try our best in everything we do that is for sure, now only if I could get a better building we could really live up to the potential. We look forward to having you in for many more great evenings.
Best regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new rochelle
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

An incredible meal! Fabulous service! We had read a local review of this restaurant, and really, the review could not do it justice. All the ingredients were fresh and every aspect of our orders was prepared perfectly. The chef is an artist. Be sure to order the peach cobbler for dessert--definitely plan on sharing--it's gigantic--and delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! We love when people recognize the true freshness of what we do that truly is what sets us apart. Thank you again and we loo forward to serving you in the future.
Kind regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Here there is a chef that know's what he is doing. The meals we ate were excellent. The service was outstanding. This is the best steak I have ever eaten. Great peach cobbler also. The restaurant it's self is a little dumpy, but very clean and neat. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabuPuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the review! We always appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know how they feel. You are right about the building in every way (we call it the sleeper lol). Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing