We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in a small town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Schoolhouse Restaurant - CLOSED

Schoolhouse Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cottonwood Schoolhouse is closed while we are transitioning to a new building in old town Cottonwood. We are currently serving all of our incredible guests from our Village of Oak Creek Location.
Clarkston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A gem in a small town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were told about this restaurant on a winery tour and decided we had to try it. It had just opened in March. We got a reservation. It is located on Main St. in an section of an old school house. It is not big but cozy and upscale inside. They had a nice wine list with bottles at $25.00. We had the pork belly & date appetizer which was really good! We each ordered something different. I had the Artic Char with risotto, pecans, brown butter sauce & heirloom cauliflower. It was really good. There were no leftovers for any one! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2gogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for setting the time out to review us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    29
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A wonderful dining experience! Thank you Chris & staff it was truly delicious.
We enjoyed the Fried Artichoke Hearts, Scallops Oscar, Pork Osso Bucco & Peach Cobbler. A meal like this with a bottle of wine for under a $100 including tip is amazing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Taryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you thank you thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We'd heard a lot about this new place and decided to give it a try. Nice people, nice menu, but a bit noisy. Tables are close together in this small restaurant. Still, food was fine and we'll be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank saddlehorngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you, cant wait to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had an early lunch after an appointment in Cottonwood and decided to follow up on recommendations from friends. The restaurant is small and cute but stylish with comfortable chairs and booths and light blues music in the background. Very sunny and comfortable. Others have discussed the superb service so I'll get to my favorite -the food and wine.
The Pork Belly Carnitas Taco was superb-crispy baked pancetta served as the taco base and the pork belly combined with the coleslaw and other ingredients was amazing. The side salad was composed of fresh greens and topped with thin sweet carrot shavings and a delightful dressing. My wife loved her panini and was eyeballing a beautiful burger and perfectly cooked salmon with a salad at the table next to us. Their menu is upscale but includes child and teen friendly food such as hot dogs, sloppy joes and sushi rolls.
Lest I forget, the wine selection is wonderful. It is international and only $5 a glass for all wines. We had a wonderful Rioja and that reminded us of a trip to Spain where you are served a small carafe with your meal.

All in all a great experience. It was crowded so reservations are recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4redrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for you for coming and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Food in Cottonwood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went for a late lunch and arrived to an almost full dining room. The inside has been remodeled with a modern bistro touch, without losing the charm of the old building. We were graciously greeted and seated at the community table, where we chatted with other guests and got tips on what to order. Our server Laura was smiley, happy and very attentive. We ordered a few different items all were tasty but the Ahi Salad was a favorite. We finished with warm home made peach cobbler which was amazing. We are planning a girls night for dinner, can't wait to sample the wine and cocktail menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meagan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C D, Owner at Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Goo right?? Thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing