We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect after a long road trip!”
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect after a long road trip!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stumbled upon The Tavern and were completely blown away. The room is amazing with fantastic linens and lots of pillows. Every amenity is included - bottled water, an iron, coffee, Philosophy bath products, and fluffy towels. We chose the sip and stay package and were not disappointed. We ate at the Tavern Grille and the food and drink selections were both amazing as was the service. Looking forward to doing some exploring around Old Town and using our wine tasting coupons. This was a great find in a beautiful location!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank allison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The sip and stay package is a great way to experience our historic little town and we are happy you opted for that package. We hope you stay with us next time you are passing through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    45
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
201
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We visited Cottonwood for business and were not particularly impressed with the hotel selection in the area but chose the Tavern almost by accident. It turned out to be one of the best decisions we made. The hotel is very, very clean, very well appointed, and just simply...perfect. Additionally, the staff and the accompanying restaurant were also fantastic.

Additionally, upon recommendation of Tavern staff, we had dinner at the Bocce and experienced the BEST gourmet pizza and deviled eggs we had ever had. Absolutely fantastic. We are planning to go back to Cottonwood for just a vacation simply because of the great experiences with the Tavern and Bocce.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms, we expect they're probably all of the same quality - perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ETTF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at Bocce as well! See you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A trip to Cottonwood AZ to ride the Verde Canyon Railroad led us to the Tavern Hotel in Old Cottonwood. It was the perfect place to stay. Because we were traveling with family members, we booked the cottage with two bedrooms. It was roomy and came with all the usual amenities. The Tavern Hotel is centrally located within walking distance of restaurants, shops and antique stores. Personnel were especially helpful and gracious. Price of the cottage included four first class train tickets which were reserved for us when we arrived.

The Tavern Restaurant has a fun, lively atmosphere with great food. The crème brûlée was worth the calories. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others! We hope to see you all again on your next trip to the Verde Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We joined three other couples for the Sip and Stay Promotion. For $225 including tax we enjoyed a very nice, large room with plenty of space. Simply decorated with a zen-like feel in greens and browns. The bed and linens were comfy. There isn't a lobby and check in is at The Tavern Grille at the end of the parking lot.

There isn't any view out of the 10 rooms at the hotel, but the calm and welcoming feeling in the room was nice.

The Sip and Stay Promotion is a room (we had a king bed), a 1 oz tasting at 3 wineries (wine by the bottle at the wineries is fairly expensive), a $50 gift card to one of four restaurants and $5 towards breakfast at a couple of restaurants across the street. Even though the weather was cool and gloomy, we had plenty of fun just walking around Old Town Cottonwood.

If we returned to the area, Cottonwood, Clarksdale, Jerome or Sedona; I would love to stay at this adorable hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical. Our room looked exactly like the picture on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phxwilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you all enjoyed your experience and are very happy to hear you will stay with us when in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time my husband and I have stayed here in less than a year. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous. We have went with the sip and stay package both times. The room stay also includes a complimentary cocktail and a credit towards breakfast the next morning. We love this hotel so much, we have no reason to look at others in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyandTatisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are so happy to have you back. Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, we really appreciate the feedback. See you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is incredible! From the amazing location, to the beautiful decor, to the superb customer service, this hotel is outstanding in all aspects. I would highly recommend this hotel by far, if you are staying in the cottonwood area. Probably the best hotel experience we've had! The customer service truly went above and beyond expectations to make us happy and comfortable. The gift cards to the delectable restaurants add value and make the whole stay even more worth it! We will definitely be back and would encourage others to give it a try and stay at The Tavern Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheradan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others! Hopefully we will see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family recently celebrated our son's 21st birthday with a trip to the AZ wine country (his request!!). Our stay in the cottage at the Tavern was exceptional! Not only was our accomodation well designed and comfortable, the service was friendly and the "Sip and Stay" package was an outstanding value. We've been going to Napa/Somoma for years, we are hooked on AZ wines and even better, supporting our local economy!! Well done!!

Room Tip: Love the cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Tell your son we are so happy that he chose to spend his 21st birthday with us! It is so nice to hear that our fellow Arizona neighbors are enjoying all the wine as much as we are! Cheers until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Property: The Tavern Hotel
Address: 904 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing