We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming elegance”
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

An upscale room and amenities, the decor, a modern approach with traditional touches. The room makes the guest feel at home, the service is great, and the large walk-in shower a real treat. This is a hidden gem, way off the beaten track, and worth the visit. The imaginative approach to inn-keeping, is highly appreciated and worthy of special praise. I shall return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beekay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 330 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Husband wanted to ride the Verde Canyon Railroad so booked the Tavern Hotel not knowing what to expect being that it's in a small town. We were so surprised at this upscale boutique hotel which included two "welcome" drinks at check-in at the Tavern Grille. Loved the blue & brown combination decor & dark wood flooring and I'd love to have the huge walk-in shower in my own home. Luxury Philosophy bath products are provided. Only suggestion would be to have a small teak bench in the shower - certainly enough room. Picked the Sip & Play package which was a bargain - included $10 off breakfast at two locations & a $50 restaurant gift card at your choice of four restaurants in Cottonwood or Jerome. Unfortunately we never got to use the two wine tastings. Want to return soon to visit Montezuma's Castle and the Tuzigoot ruins which were closed due to the government shutdown. Also close enough to take a pink jeep tour in Sedona without the high prices or congestion!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

It sounds like you and your husband had a wonderful time on your trip! We are so glad that we were able to be apart of it. We look forward to welcoming you back when you come to explore the area attractions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We didn't want to stay in touristy Sedona, and Cottonwood looked like a great alternative. Arriving after dark, we wondered what we were getting ourselves into as we drove the back roads off of the interstate. But when we arrived in a bustling Cottonwood around dinnertime, we knew we had made the right choice. The Tavern Hotel is right next to a great restaurant owned by the same people. We loved our room, and although it does look more like a fancy NY hotel, we loved the beauty and comfort it afforded. We had wonderful breakfasts included in our room rate at Crema, where the food was delicious, the staff charming, and other customers friendly. We used our $50 dinner gift certificate at Nik's where we had a fabulous dinner, with a great wait staff and Christopher the manager made sure we were happy. In an interesting turn of events, we met the former manager of Nik's when we stayed at our next accommodations, and we shared a lot of laughs together. Good vibes come from Cottonwood!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wangsneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're so glad to hear that you decided to stay in Cottonwood instead of Sedona. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is just fantastic. It is beautifully decorated, beds are extremely comfortable, shower is fantastic, and nice and peaceful as well. With only 10 rooms, it is all on one floor. But the most surprising thing was it's beauty. Among the top places we have ever stayed. Excellent value, as room rate included first class train tix, 2 drinks, and 2 breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprisetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

It sounds like you had a great time with us during your trip. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope the next time you are in town, we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Cottonwood at the Tavern Hotel. The room was extremely nice and comfortable. It had a "wow" factor. The shower was a tiled walk-in shower. They also provide Philosophy shampoo, soaps, lotions. This is the only hotel where the rooms lives up to the pictures the hotel posts. Most places look really different when you get there. We signed up for the Sip and Stay package. Overall, it was a good package. The Wine tasting wasn't what i expected. You get one 1oz tasting at 2 of the tasting rooms. The other discounts that came with the package was good. The only thing that I thought needed improvement was the water pressure in the shower. It was extremely low. I would definitely stay at the Tavern Hotel again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us during your trip. We will look into the water pressure and see what the problem is. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

There is certainly nothing to complain about on the surface, because our room was very nice. Comfortable bed and linens, pleasing décor, walk-in tiled shower, good lighting, luxury soaps, coffee maker - well-considered ambiance and 'feel'. There was a kind of "wow" factor when we walked in. The only thing I would suggest by way of comfort is to reconsider the window coverings - black out shades would be great. The shutters were not enough to keep the light out so I was awake earlier than I wanted to be. It didn't help that the alarm next to the bed went off at 6am. The maids might want to check that before the next guest checks in.

The price is right, especially since they include a couple free drinks at the Tavern Grille next door and a continental breakfast at Red Rooster across the street.

I have to say, though, for all its glory, there is nothing quirky or interesting or charming about it. It's nice, but it almost doesn't fit in Old Town Cottonwood. Kind of like going to a hotel in Hawaii, hoping for that island vibe, but feeling like you are somewhere in New York City instead.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We're happy to hear that you thought we were a good choice for your visit! We apologize that the window shutters didn't block out enough light. We hope that you'll choose us again the next time you plan to visit Cottonwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went up to Old Town Cottonwood and stayed for a night @ the Tavern. We ended up choosing the Tavern because of their Verde Canyon Railway package (Close location, first class tickets on Train, and breakfast vouchers, Nice looking hotel/reviews and we were also going to the Blazin M Ranch--which was only 5 min away). We were EXTEREMELY happy with our choice!!! This little boutique hotel is soo nice. Its very "cute" and small. It only has like 10 rooms so it was very very quiet. The bed was super comfy. The room was set up nice and open and was all hardwood floor and nice tile (This was very important/helpful because I am in a wheelchair) They gave you a couple vouchers for 2 free drinks you can use at the Tavern Grille (Restaurant) You can choose alcoholic or non alcoholic beverages. I got a smoothie. The drinks and food were amazing at the Tavern Grille. Our server was so so. All of the other staff was extremely helpful and super super friendly! It was that old small town feel and customer service you cant find anymore! I think the only thing I would let you know, is if you are choosing this hotel for the free breakfast vouchers, be aware, that you get a voucher for a free continental breakfast from a choice of two breakfast restaurants right across the street (Both were good, we had breakfast from each) Which is basically a bagel and juice OR you can cash in the voucher for $5 off of whatever you choose for breakfast. Like I said both of the breakfast places were REALLY good, but it was kind of like not getting a "free breakfast". I ended up paying $14 for my breakfast alone at Red Rooster (I did get a coffee, a oj, and a breakfast, subbing out pancakes--so kind of a lot) Worth it, but, just so you know, breakfast will cost you some $ out of pocket, unless, you just want a bagel. This was one of the best trips ever and we LOVED the Tavern! Would definitely recommend to anyone going to Cottonwood or taking the Verde Canyon Railway, etc!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMAZLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We're so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time and took advantage of the Verde Canyon Railway package! Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We hope the next time you visit Cottonwood, you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
157 reviews
14.4 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
289 reviews
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range: $181 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing