We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tavern Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Daisy Motel(Cottonwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Motel(Cottonwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pines Motel(Cottonwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Verde Valley Inn(Cottonwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
349
52
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
52
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgift cardacross the streetwine tastingfree drinksthe penthouseold town cottonwoodwelcome cocktailbeautiful boutique hotelcrema cafebreakfast vouchershaunted grouptiled walk in showeritalian steakwithin walking distancewonderful surprisenew additionsame company
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 408 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a great time 3 /22/13. Wow, the room was so nice. huge cushy bed,HD TV, wood floors, tiled walk in shower, clear glass bowl sink, like a luxury home. a nice room, two drinks at check-in, wine tastings, dinner and breakfast. (Eat at Red Rooster for breakfast) Niks for dinner was good!
The town is cute and close to many attractions in the area. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Our Sip & Stay package truly is the way to go! We're glad to hear that you enjoy the room and all of your activities during your trip! Thanks for recommending us to others. We hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed 3 times at this inn. They have beautiful rooms and package deals that include wine tastings and resturant discounts. You can park your car in thier parking lot and walk to all the winerys, don't have to worry about driving. There is also alot going on in the evening to enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcampbell38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoy our hotel and that you are a regular guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage. It was beautifully appointed. Breakfast was delicious at the cafe across the street. We had dinner at The Tavern. It was very good and reasonable. The cottage was immaculate. Definitely stay here if on Cottonwood.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loranfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

The cottage is fabulous and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for all of the great descriptors about the cottage. Please join us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband reserved the Sip & Stay Package as a surprise pre-Valentine getaway. We stayed the night of Saturday, February 9 and it could not have been a better experience. The check-in at the Tavern Grill was fast and efficient. Our room was even ready early! I was really impressed with the furnishings and the attention to detail. With only 10 rooms it was quiet and restful, just what we needed. The coupons for wine tastings, dinner and breakfast worked out perfectly. Nic's and Crema were delicious and we found a new favorite winery. This hotel is a hidden gem and the "extras" that came with the package made it a great value. I'm a bit of a hotel snob, and the Tavern Hotel is a real winner. It's on or above par with hotels in much larger cities. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Tell your husband 'way to go'! Sounds like he knew just how to make you happy for this Valentine's Day! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and everything about the Sip & Stay package. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My significant other and I stayed here over the holiday weekend (MLK Jr. Day). We purchased the Sip and Stay package for one of our nights. It was a great deal, considering you pay $30 more and get $70 worth of food ($50 gift card for Nic's and four $5 off coupons for Red Rooster Cafe and Crema Cafe across the street), three free wine tastes, and free bev's at The Tavern Grille. $169 per night is more than I would usually spend for a hotel, but it was definitely worth it. I understand the building was acquired in 2011, and it is very modern and beautifully decorated. I would totally hire their interior decorator for my own home! Everything was nice, new, and clean. It felt like we were the first people to stay in that room! It was very comfortable and quiet. You have to walk to The Tavern Grille to get ice, because the bar is technically the front desk, but that didn't bother us at all. Bottled water in the minifridge was complementary, which is rare at most hotels.

The hotel is within walking distance to so many great spots in Old Town Cottonwood. Some of the places we especially enjoyed visiting were The Tavern Grille, Nic's, Crema Cafe, Red Rooster, Burning Tree Cellars, and Arizona Stronghold. All the food we had was great; we were even pleasantly surprised to find a good Thai restaurant just off Main (Thai Palace on Balboa Street). We met many locals who were super friendly. At the end of Main Street is the Jail Trail, which is a great, easy hike. In just 15 minutes or less, you can be at one of many state parks, wineries, haunted hotels, landmarks, etc. My boyfriend commented that he enjoyed Cottonwood more than staying in tourist-y, crowded Sedona. The only problem for me is the trip got expensive fast, and I spent more money than planned. Wine-tasting flights were about $10, bottles ran $20-$50, and we had to take some of those home! But all my money spent went to supporting local businesses, so I can't feel too bad about that. Definitely adding Cottonwood and The Tavern Hotel to my list of happy places.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are great, but we were on the end so that might have contributed to how peaceful our stay was.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Wow! We are ecstatic that your stay with us was so terrific! You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews