We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a lot of fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Had a lot of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while celebrating our anniversary. We usually go to Flagstaff but decided to switch it up this year and try something new. I picked this place because of the glowing reviews it got and because we could walk to shops, restaurants, and tasting rooms. I'm so glad we decided to stay here and I hope to return! The room was great, loved the dark wood decor, shower, furnishings, etc. Everything still seemed so new and clean. We enjoyed the privacy, we hardly saw anyone in the building the two days we were there. Parking was super easy and complimentary. We had to walk next door to the restaurant to get ice, so you shouldn't expect a full service hotel. But we enjoyed the privacy. We didn't deal with many staff members but they were very friendly upon check in at the restaurant. We liked that they included a complimentary drink at The Tavern Grill and breakfast coupons. We usually stay in a bed and breakfast where we have to get up so early to eat, so I liked that we could go to breakfast on our own time. We went to the breakfast place across the street and it was yummy (Rooster Cafe or something)! We loved that you could walk to the restaurants and wine tasting rooms. We had a great meal at the Italian place across the street and saw some great live music at the tasting rooms. We visited Jerome one day and it's a 20 minute or so drive. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srhbluerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Wow! We're glad that we caught your eye and persuaded you to try a new destination! Like you mentioned, our location is ideal because everything is in walking distance. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary drink tickets and breakfast voucher. We hope that you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    38
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
185
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We hadn't been to Cottonwood in at least 25 years and still would not have thought of it as a destination until an article talking about the wine tasting and shops downtown. I "googled" hotels and found the Tavern Hotel. The website looked great but didn't do the hotel justice once we checked in. What a wonderful surprise. We booked the "Sip and Stay" package. For $30 over the room rate, we got cocktails, $50 towards dinner, breakfast, and wine tasting coupons. We had such a great time and the room was absolutely perfect. This is a beautiful renovation and has everything you could want to be comfortable. The bed was perfect, the room was gorgeous and beautifully appointed. Even the toiletries are top of the line. Another nice surprise was that they had a lighted magnifying mirror in the bathroom. For ladies of a "certain" age, that is a real bonus. The check-in is at the hotel's restaurant so the only people who enter the hotel are guests. That makes for a very quiet, peaceful, secure stay. I clearly enjoyed myself and will go back with friends for another stay. This hotel deserves to be supported. The owners also own several restaurants in Cottonwood and Jerome. If they are aiming for world domination; I am on board since they will clearly do it right!!

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and I can't imagine that any of them are less perfect than ours. Quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We're so glad to hear that the article persuaded you to visit the Verde Valley and that Google lead you to our website! We are a little gem hidden in old town. Our Sip and Stay package is just fabulous isn't it? Such a good deal! It's wonderful to hear such positive feedback from our guests. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful small boutique hotel. Our room and stay exceeded our high expectations. Everything was very clean and seemed brand new. The room was comfortable, spacious, and beautifully decorated. We liked trying the Philosophy toiletries, and we appreciated the free welcome cocktail, as well as the breakfast coupons for the cute restaurants across the street. The hotel was in easy reach of Sedona, Montezuma's Castle, and the Grand Canyon, which is what we did with our long weekend. We both agreed that we were happy to have stayed in Cottonwood rather than in the more touristy and crowded Sedona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious comments about our fantastic hotel. We're quite proud of our high quality rooms and features! We strive each and every day to make sure our guests are satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms were large and well decorated. Check in was at The Tavern restaurant next door.

Package rate included welcome cocktail and a restaurant credit which were both used and appreciated. Room was clean and quiet. Bed linens were of good quality.

Planning my next visit this weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MappyPhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words of appreciation. Our goal is to have each and every guest walk away feeling the way you do. We sincerely hope you do come back so we can continue to WOW you! Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We recently did a one night package stay here with two tickets on the Verde Valley Railroad. This hotel is located right downtown in old Cottonwood. You would expect a comfortable, well maintained, older accommodation. Well, this is like a brand new luxury hotel you might find in a major city or top tourist area! It certainly is comfortable and very nicely decorated. Bowl sink, walk in "cave" tiled shower, wonderful king bed, flat screen TV, and more. The package also included two complementary cocktails at their Tavern Grill and continental breakfast at the Red Rooster across the street. Well worth the price! Highly recommended for a getaway weekend. No negatives.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottsdale_from_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It sounds like you had a stellar experience with us, and we are so delighted! Our location is so convenient to everything on Main Street and everything fun to do is in walking distance. Thanks very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently visited Cottonwood and stayed at this great boutique hotel. Its super clean, unexpectedly modern and very hip. If you're looking for a great place to get away, and be able to walk to some great wine tasting venues, restaurants, cafe's, bars and vintage shops, this is the perfect place to stay. Its conveniently located in the quaint/charming downtown Cottonwood location and has a nice tavern on site, where you actually check in for your room. If you don't like the conventional and prefer a more authentic local experience, give this place a try. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo_PPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your excellent feedback. We have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We can't wait for you to come back to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Tavern Hotel is not what you would expect in small town Arizona, but is one of many reasons to visit Old Town Cottonwood. This place is modern, polished, comfortable and the staff is very friendly. Its central location in town makes this a great jumping off point for a tour of the wineries and shops on Main Street, and their grill is also a good place to grab a bite before or after your wine tasting adventures. Note: the reception for the hotel is located in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, decor, and our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#7 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Property: The Tavern Hotel
Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing