We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!”
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We hadn't been to Cottonwood in at least 25 years and still would not have thought of it as a destination until an article talking about the wine tasting and shops downtown. I "googled" hotels and found the Tavern Hotel. The website looked great but didn't do the hotel justice once we checked in. What a wonderful surprise. We booked the "Sip and Stay" package. For $30 over the room rate, we got cocktails, $50 towards dinner, breakfast, and wine tasting coupons. We had such a great time and the room was absolutely perfect. This is a beautiful renovation and has everything you could want to be comfortable. The bed was perfect, the room was gorgeous and beautifully appointed. Even the toiletries are top of the line. Another nice surprise was that they had a lighted magnifying mirror in the bathroom. For ladies of a "certain" age, that is a real bonus. The check-in is at the hotel's restaurant so the only people who enter the hotel are guests. That makes for a very quiet, peaceful, secure stay. I clearly enjoyed myself and will go back with friends for another stay. This hotel deserves to be supported. The owners also own several restaurants in Cottonwood and Jerome. If they are aiming for world domination; I am on board since they will clearly do it right!!

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms and I can't imagine that any of them are less perfect than ours. Quiet...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We're so glad to hear that the article persuaded you to visit the Verde Valley and that Google lead you to our website! We are a little gem hidden in old town. Our Sip and Stay package is just fabulous isn't it? Such a good deal! It's wonderful to hear such positive feedback from our guests. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for The Tavern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 315 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful small boutique hotel. Our room and stay exceeded our high expectations. Everything was very clean and seemed brand new. The room was comfortable, spacious, and beautifully decorated. We liked trying the Philosophy toiletries, and we appreciated the free welcome cocktail, as well as the breakfast coupons for the cute restaurants across the street. The hotel was in easy reach of Sedona, Montezuma's Castle, and the Grand Canyon, which is what we did with our long weekend. We both agreed that we were happy to have stayed in Cottonwood rather than in the more touristy and crowded Sedona.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your gracious comments about our fantastic hotel. We're quite proud of our high quality rooms and features! We strive each and every day to make sure our guests are satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms were large and well decorated. Check in was at The Tavern restaurant next door.

Package rate included welcome cocktail and a restaurant credit which were both used and appreciated. Room was clean and quiet. Bed linens were of good quality.

Planning my next visit this weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MappyPhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind words of appreciation. Our goal is to have each and every guest walk away feeling the way you do. We sincerely hope you do come back so we can continue to WOW you! Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We recently did a one night package stay here with two tickets on the Verde Valley Railroad. This hotel is located right downtown in old Cottonwood. You would expect a comfortable, well maintained, older accommodation. Well, this is like a brand new luxury hotel you might find in a major city or top tourist area! It certainly is comfortable and very nicely decorated. Bowl sink, walk in "cave" tiled shower, wonderful king bed, flat screen TV, and more. The package also included two complementary cocktails at their Tavern Grill and continental breakfast at the Red Rooster across the street. Well worth the price! Highly recommended for a getaway weekend. No negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottsdale_from_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

It sounds like you had a stellar experience with us, and we are so delighted! Our location is so convenient to everything on Main Street and everything fun to do is in walking distance. Thanks very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently visited Cottonwood and stayed at this great boutique hotel. Its super clean, unexpectedly modern and very hip. If you're looking for a great place to get away, and be able to walk to some great wine tasting venues, restaurants, cafe's, bars and vintage shops, this is the perfect place to stay. Its conveniently located in the quaint/charming downtown Cottonwood location and has a nice tavern on site, where you actually check in for your room. If you don't like the conventional and prefer a more authentic local experience, give this place a try. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo_PPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for posting your excellent feedback. We have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We can't wait for you to come back to Cottonwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Tavern Hotel is not what you would expect in small town Arizona, but is one of many reasons to visit Old Town Cottonwood. This place is modern, polished, comfortable and the staff is very friendly. Its central location in town makes this a great jumping off point for a tour of the wineries and shops on Main Street, and their grill is also a good place to grab a bite before or after your wine tasting adventures. Note: the reception for the hotel is located in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, decor, and our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took a few friends up for a stay in Cottonwood and I can't even find enough good things to say. This Hotel is top-notch and is on par with the nicest places I've stayed around the world. The attention to detail, design elements, and crisp, clean atmosphere is simply stunning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone- and especially those interested in exploring the wine tasting, dining, and antiquing in Old Town Cottonwood. We LOVED IT!

Room Tip: This place doesn't have a bad room in the place! If it's available, the Cottage in the back...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimberLFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to the Verde Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range: $182 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing