We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that this hotel needs another great review but we agree this place is excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not that this hotel needs another great review but we agree this place is excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We recently did a one night package stay here with two tickets on the Verde Valley Railroad. This hotel is located right downtown in old Cottonwood. You would expect a comfortable, well maintained, older accommodation. Well, this is like a brand new luxury hotel you might find in a major city or top tourist area! It certainly is comfortable and very nicely decorated. Bowl sink, walk in "cave" tiled shower, wonderful king bed, flat screen TV, and more. The package also included two complementary cocktails at their Tavern Grill and continental breakfast at the Red Rooster across the street. Well worth the price! Highly recommended for a getaway weekend. No negatives.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottsdale_from_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It sounds like you had a stellar experience with us, and we are so delighted! Our location is so convenient to everything on Main Street and everything fun to do is in walking distance. Thanks very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    40
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
192
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently visited Cottonwood and stayed at this great boutique hotel. Its super clean, unexpectedly modern and very hip. If you're looking for a great place to get away, and be able to walk to some great wine tasting venues, restaurants, cafe's, bars and vintage shops, this is the perfect place to stay. Its conveniently located in the quaint/charming downtown Cottonwood location and has a nice tavern on site, where you actually check in for your room. If you don't like the conventional and prefer a more authentic local experience, give this place a try. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo_PPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your excellent feedback. We have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We can't wait for you to come back to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Tavern Hotel is not what you would expect in small town Arizona, but is one of many reasons to visit Old Town Cottonwood. This place is modern, polished, comfortable and the staff is very friendly. Its central location in town makes this a great jumping off point for a tour of the wineries and shops on Main Street, and their grill is also a good place to grab a bite before or after your wine tasting adventures. Note: the reception for the hotel is located in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, decor, and our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took a few friends up for a stay in Cottonwood and I can't even find enough good things to say. This Hotel is top-notch and is on par with the nicest places I've stayed around the world. The attention to detail, design elements, and crisp, clean atmosphere is simply stunning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone- and especially those interested in exploring the wine tasting, dining, and antiquing in Old Town Cottonwood. We LOVED IT!

Room Tip: This place doesn't have a bad room in the place! If it's available, the Cottage in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimberLFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to the Verde Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was my first time in Cottonwood and I had no idea what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. This hotel is very upscale chic and modern. What I loved is that everything was walking distance for the wine tastings and the whole old town area. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a cool little cottage in the back for up to 6 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveC_PHX_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Wow! We are ecstatic that your first stay with us was so terrific! Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

It's obvious the owners of The Tavern Hotel aimed to exceed standards. And they do on some counts. The staff is very courteous, rooms are nicely appointed, and the beds are superb. But the walls are thin, check-in is inconveniently located in the tavern across the parking lot, ice is only available at the tavern, the AC keeps one from opening the windows on cool AZ nights. The foyer is over-done with a boring, repetitive decor that is overwhelming. Sorry, Tavern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We are locals and came here on a "stay cation" due to the hotel reputation. We were not disappointed!
Everything here is upgraded. All the fixtures, bed and decor are high quality. The complimentary cocktail and breakfast vouchers included are a nice touch. Only detractor at all was the wifi didn't work but these are minor things.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We love stay-cations! You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We apologize the you didn't get to use the wifi. We will be sure to check on that to make sure it's working properly. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cottonwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Property: The Tavern Hotel
Address: 904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing