We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING Hotel in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood!”
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Hotel in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took a few friends up for a stay in Cottonwood and I can't even find enough good things to say. This Hotel is top-notch and is on par with the nicest places I've stayed around the world. The attention to detail, design elements, and crisp, clean atmosphere is simply stunning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone- and especially those interested in exploring the wine tasting, dining, and antiquing in Old Town Cottonwood. We LOVED IT!

Room Tip: This place doesn't have a bad room in the place! If it's available, the Cottage in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimberLFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to the Verde Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    45
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
201
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was my first time in Cottonwood and I had no idea what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. This hotel is very upscale chic and modern. What I loved is that everything was walking distance for the wine tastings and the whole old town area. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a cool little cottage in the back for up to 6 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveC_PHX_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Wow! We are ecstatic that your first stay with us was so terrific! Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It's obvious the owners of The Tavern Hotel aimed to exceed standards. And they do on some counts. The staff is very courteous, rooms are nicely appointed, and the beds are superb. But the walls are thin, check-in is inconveniently located in the tavern across the parking lot, ice is only available at the tavern, the AC keeps one from opening the windows on cool AZ nights. The foyer is over-done with a boring, repetitive decor that is overwhelming. Sorry, Tavern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We are locals and came here on a "stay cation" due to the hotel reputation. We were not disappointed!
Everything here is upgraded. All the fixtures, bed and decor are high quality. The complimentary cocktail and breakfast vouchers included are a nice touch. Only detractor at all was the wifi didn't work but these are minor things.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We love stay-cations! You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We apologize the you didn't get to use the wifi. We will be sure to check on that to make sure it's working properly. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a great find!! My husband found the Wine and Sip Package online and it was sure worth it.
The package included a $50 gift card at one of the local restaurants, along with 2 drink vouchers and a voucher for breakfast the next morning. Our room was very beautiful and romantic!!! So pristine and lots of attention to detail in the decor. A small refrigerator was provided in every room with 2 bottles of water. Right in the middle of Old Town Cottonwood and all those quirky boutique shops!!! Will definitely stay there again!!! A wonderful place to stay for a special occasion!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Wine and Sip package, it's one of our recently added ones! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and your entire stay. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANDLER
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I took my family who was visiting from out of state up to Cottonwood for a weekend of sightseeing and wine tasting. I'm so glad we found the Tavern Hotel. The experience was fantastic - from the check-in (with free cocktails) to the exquisitely decorated rooms. We booked the cottage - which was perfect!! The options for breakfast were also wonderful. I hope the owners continue to expand because the limited availability will continue to be problematic as people become more and more aware of this wonderful establishment. I look forward to staying there again soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACOB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Wow! We are ecstatic that your stay with us was so terrific! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What an incredible discovery! Stunning rooms and decor, immaculately clean, great attention to comfort and detail in each room, extremely comfortable beds, "real" china cups and glasses, with everything designed to make one's stay memorable and enjoyable. The staff was extremely courteous, accommodating and friendly. The Tavern Grill next door is also an excellent place to eat. Restaurants are within walking distance. The perfect choice for a relaxing getaway all nestled in the charming town of Cottonwood. We can hardly wait to return.
Ron and Jan G.

Room Tip: Any room would make a great choice. Ten rooms in all with books, DVD's and games readily availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron and Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, decor, and our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Property: The Tavern Hotel
Address: 904 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing