We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Surprise & Experience!”
Review of The Tavern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tavern Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What an incredible discovery! Stunning rooms and decor, immaculately clean, great attention to comfort and detail in each room, extremely comfortable beds, "real" china cups and glasses, with everything designed to make one's stay memorable and enjoyable. The staff was extremely courteous, accommodating and friendly. The Tavern Grill next door is also an excellent place to eat. Restaurants are within walking distance. The perfect choice for a relaxing getaway all nestled in the charming town of Cottonwood. We can hardly wait to return.
Ron and Jan G.

Room Tip: Any room would make a great choice. Ten rooms in all with books, DVD's and games readily availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron and Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, decor, and our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

A group of ten drove from Phoenix to Cottonwood for a wine-tasting weekend in and around Cottonwood. Someone in our group made the hotel reservation, and I had no real expectations. What a wonderful surprise. The rooms was immaculate and beautifully decorated. Lots of nice touches--art work, sculptures, ipod docking stations, etc. The only negative--the air conditioning unit had a bright LED light that was distracting. Everyone in our group commented on it the following morning. Other than that, I highly recommend The Tavern Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We appreciate that you took the time to give me specifics about the LED light on the A/C and apologize for any inconvenience it may have made. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

So happy to have finally found an excellent hotel in cottonwood! My family lives there and I get a hotel approx twice a year. So happy to have this option! So nice, clean, excellent location! This is our new choice. And the location is perfect, right in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We am thrilled that you enjoy our hotel and that you will become a regular guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We really were trying to stay right in Sedona but I am glad I came across this Hotel in Cottonwood. For about the same price as a hotel room in Sedona we purchased the Wine Getaway package at the Tavern Hotel - what a great deal! The room was phenomenal, everything was so nice and the bed was super comfortable. The package included a gift card to one of four restaurants and we decided to eat at the Tavern Grille and were very happy with the food and service.

The town itself is very quirky and didn't have a lot of night life for a Saturday night. It would be nice if the shops stayed open longer than 6:00 PM so we could walk around and browse.

Enjoyed our stay and hope to be back again!

Room Tip: The $199 Wine Package is a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grlbdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We are currently in the process of adding new packages so check our website soon for those updates! Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to the Verde Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Room a bit cramped for four people but the large wet room (with Philosophie toiletries) was great. Voucher for money off breakfast also good. Dinner at restaurant (and lunch at Grapes in Jerome - same company) of high standard and healthy options available. Enjoyed our short time in this quirky town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit even though the rooms could have been bigger. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to the Verde Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Brand new, beautifully decorated, clean, quiet, comfy double sheeted beds, awesome shower. We stayed here recently for a wedding that was in Sedona and loved Old Town Cottonwood and this hotel. It is a boutique hotel so no pool or front desk. (you check in at the Tavern Grille which is right next door) Everything was top notch, not a single complaint that I could think of. Another nice thing, the A/C is a unit that is so quiet it doesn't wake you up at night when it kicks in! (A problem we've had at other hotels) Old Town Cottonwood is a great place to stay, 15 miles from Sedona and very laid back and friendly. It is not as pricey as Sedona. We liked the shops (rocks, resale, antiques, jewelry) great cafe's (Crema Cafe, and Red Rooster) and a tasty mexican restaurant called Concho's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmw-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Cottonwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great value and soooo clean!!!! I usually want to get out as soon as I wake up when I go on vacation, but we actually stayed in our cottage room and enjoyed the atmosphere. Room fully stocked with plenty of towels and good coffee. Stayed in the cottage which is good for two couples or family with children. Our grown children stayed in the main hotel and that was incredible as well. Everyone who worked there were so nice and answered all questions which we had so many..Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Alll Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasvegasSusetGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for posting your excellent feedback with TripAdvisor. We have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Tavern Hotel on your next visit to Arizona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
2.1 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
3.2 mi away
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Cottonwood Hotel
Cottonwood Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tavern Hotel

Address: 904 N Main St, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-3532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range: $182 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tavern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavern Hotel is nestled in the heart of Old Town Cottonwood's dining, shopping, and entertainment district. This luxury boutique hotel features deluxe accommodations, combining historic details with chic elegance. Your unique experience begins at check in. Our front desk is located at the bar inside The Tavern Grille where you will be greeted and offered a complimentary cocktail while checking in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Tavern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing