We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Thailand”
Review of Thai Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Palace
Ranked #32 of 103 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Touch of Thailand”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is an easy to miss little restaurant, tucked almost behind the gigantic antique store where Main Street curves down into Old Town. But it is well worth looking for. The food is delicious and the service is good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucieB1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Although tucked away in the not-so-busy section of Old Town Cottonwood and very nicely done inside, the food was uninspired and the prices were high for the portion size. Probably won't be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful, inconsistent- will never return”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I was a regular here for years, mostly take-out service- the past few visits have been hit or miss, but namely the last visit was the worst. The new girl working gave me a huge hassle over using my frequent diner card for my "freebie" meal (after you purchase ten meals, the 11th is free) and the portion of the entree I ordered, which I always order the same exact meal, was HALF the usual portion. Coming from someone who has worked in the restaurant industry for teeny years, I can say that the place is going down hill. Unfortunately for them, they lost a regular customer. I only hope someone from their mgmt cares enough to read this review.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElephantShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“any problem they will not take an order back!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Im a reg customer coming every other week and today I ordered spicy noodle-it arrived with an off taste and they would not take it back to correct it! It has always been a hit or miss affair but this was beyond rigid. Won't be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolcapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They call the police if they get your order wrong.. no kidding!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

They've always refused to take responsibility if they get your order wrong. Most of us knew this and became smarter and clearer when ordering. They owners make the server pay for whatever is returned. Tonight they took it to a whole new level. I witnessed a patron be explicitly clear in how she wanted her Tom Ka Kai soup (w/o the chili paste, evidently they put chili paste in the soup and that turns it a light pink color and it tastes funny to her). The server assured her that they won't do that.

They brought the soup to her prepared the same way they always do, with the chili paste. She didn't want it and returned the soup and didn't want to pay for it. They told she had to pay for it. She stated again that she was clear when ordering and would not be paying for it. They told her she would be paying for it or they'd call the police if she tried to leave without paying for it. She politely asked them to cancel her order and got up to leave. They followed her out to her car and took down her license plate number!! Unbelievable! All for a $5.50 bowl of soup! They bruised, bullied and intimidated their patron and they were the ones that got it wrong.

Be advised: Dusty the server stated that Thai Palace's policy states that if for ANY reason you return a portion of your meal and refuse to pay for it; they can and will call the police. We all heard it and witnessed it. This sort of escalating situations and badgering the customer is frequent here. Atta girl Bo (co-owner)!

Who put's chili paste in Tom Ka Kai anyway! Unbelievable on all accounts!! I know you'll find it hard to believe but this is exactly what happened AND it's happened before at this location. I just wish more people would speak up! I won't go back, I found it very uncomfortable to have that sort of aggression preparing my meals and badgering customers in the dinning room in front of all the other patrons. Unbelievable...they don't get it. They see nothing wrong with their behavior. Tacky, tasteless and scary.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Palace also viewed

 

Been to Thai Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing