We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cottonwood
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
wonderful little museum

A really interesting little museum with lots of unusual items. Got a chuckle out of the tin of... read more

Reviewed November 10, 2019
556dianne
,
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Interesting, small museum

An interesting museum. Seems to be a former house turned school. Originally owned by a Frenchman... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2019
Maggie_NHam
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Read all 38 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cottonwood
from $626.75
More Info
from $228.85
More Info
from $136.90
More Info
from $114.82
More Info
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
22
11
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
11
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train room informative volunteers donation school railroad viking dioramas history display douglas admission enthusiasts founded
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 38 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We are real museum addicts, and will visit any museum we encounter. This one is easy to miss, as it is not very readily identifiable. We passed it without knowing, and had to turn around and search again.

The museum is in a wing of an old school building. A small group of very nice and knowledgeable volunteers run it. They can tell you just about everything about this area. The exhibits (many, many old photos plus items collected from long ago) all pertain to this region. There are even old yearbooks to look through. When we were there (8/22), there was someone with a magnifying glass searching through the yearbook photos for, perhaps, a "long lost" friend.

There is also a model train layout, which takes up an entire room. It is so detailed with so many charming touches, that we spent about half an hour there. The diorama has been constructed to be authentic to this area. Five trains were running.

We were so happy we made a point of visiting this attraction. Entrance is by donation, and hours are short and they are not open daily. Best to check before making the trip.

Date of experience: August 2014
10  Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a nice surprise to find so much history in this museum. Our tour guide was so very knowledgeable and still excited about the museum's content. Someone has taken a lot of time and effort to put it all together so perfectly.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank 525SusanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Could have come back just to visit with the two guys who run the train diorama. It's amazing and the short visit was super-friendly!

Date of experience: May 2013
4  Thank Boulderpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This volunteer-run, donations only place keeps very tight hours (during the week open only Wednesday morning), so for years I'd been missing it. Luck put me in Cottonwood sight-seeing at the right time at last, and pleased I am. The Clemenceau is a fine local history museum, with many impressive exhibits. The highlight-- what elevates the museum to five star level-- is the incredible model train diorama, which represents an enormous amount of work on the part of its creators. One could spend an hour just examining its entertaining detail.

The museum is located in the 1920s school, which is an impressive building in its own right, worth a look for that reason alone. Next door is the old Bank of Clemenceau.

Date of experience: April 2013
3  Thank Vorchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A surprise visit to this very unknown museum was a nice addition to our day. It is a piece of a former town, now incorporated into Cottonwood, with a large miniature train room, lots of authentic pieces from the past in the late 1800's, lots about the Verde Valley, old school room with old seats (have a seat), mining photos and artifacts and a great staff of senior volunteers! Donation only!

Date of experience: October 2012
3  Thank jeniferjmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews