We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generous Portions!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog Wild BBQ

Hog Wild BBQ
Ranked #4 of 102 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill, American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hog Wild is at the entrance to Old Town Cottonwood. Our meat is slow-cooked in our 100% wood-fired outdoor smoker over local pecan wood. We can cater any size event and will customize for your event. You can choose from onsite catering, delivery of food, or schedule a pick-up at the restaurant. We feature pecan-smoked baby back ribs, pork, and brisket.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Generous Portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We used Hog Wild BBQ take-out for an event in Cottonwood. They came highly recommended by locals, which is always a good sign.

Mike and Dawn and crew know the meaning of customer service! They were exceedingly helpful from start to finish.

And the ribs were to die for. Sooo wonderful, meaty, and fell right off the bone. The beans, potato salad, and coleslaw were the perfect accompaniments.

The portions were exceedingly generous. Knowing it sounded like a lot, we had baggies on hand for leftovers. Everyone took some home too. Really enjoyed not having to cook for a couple more nights! Wish I could make ribs like that.

We also ordered BBQ chicken, which wasn't as popular. It was a bit dry, but it got gobbled up too. It probably would have been better shredded off the bone and mixed with the BBQ sauce for sandwiches.

Oh, Mike, we didn't get the dinner rolls that were on the catering menu. But no one noticed, being so filled with everything else!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelsFromUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    68
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awesome Pulled Pork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just moved to Cottonwood and based on reviews decided to try out Hog Wild. We've only tried the Pulled Pork so far, but it was indeed amazing. Best pulled pork I've ever had. Their garlic fries were pretty tasty too! The atmosphere is casual and you order at the register before being seated. Give them a try; you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaKeyWestBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Real smoked ribs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have been traveling the states looking for the best ribs...and boy did we find them!!! Hog wild in cottonwood .az. Anybody traveling through must stop! You won't be Diappointed!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank girlwholovesbbq30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Italian BBQ??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very interesting combination of foods - pizza and BBQ. We had the Q and it was quite good. I would have enjoyed a beer with the Q or some wine with the pizza, but no such luck. The dining area filled up as we ate and I'm glad we got there when we did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Barbecue Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am not even a huge fan of Barbecue pulled pork or ribs, BUT this food was AMAZING!! Myself, my husband and son (10 yrs) all loved the food! We all cleaned our plates! The barbecure sauce is the best I have ever had :) My husband and I shared the sample platter and had just enough food. Great value and large portions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minniemouse122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Wild BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hog Wild BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing