We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We will not return. We pulled up and they stated that they had no idea we were coming.... I had made the reservation 2 months prior to arrival AND they had emailed me a few days before asking what time we would be there. The then asked if we needed a blow up mattress (We had booked 2 rooms). People were standing outside and stated "oh didn't know that there would be guests, I'll be leaving in a minute" It made us feel uncomfortable, I felt like I was invading someone's home, not arriving at a B&B.

People coming in and out (not guests) I am not sure who they were, they never introduced themselves. Our room had a stale smell to it. My husband went and got his travel pillow out of the car to sleep on. The sink in the bathroom had no water that ran out of the "hot" side. This is needed to wash your hands, especially since I wear contacts and want to make sure that my hands are as clean as can be before I take them out. I was the first to take a shower, and there was black hair in the shower along with a used razor and bar of soap. Also, they turn the water off at night, so if you get up to use the bathroom there is no water at all. My mother-in-law got up at 6am to take a shower to start the day, and there was still no water. The place made her feel so uncomfortable that she kept her luggage in front of the door when she slept.
Breakfast was cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit.
We have stayed at dozens of B&Bs and this is the first one that I would not recommend. If wanting to stay in Camp Verde, stay at the Quality Inn or drive the few extra miles to Jerome or Sedona.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tazra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

I am very perplexed by your review as I firmly believe you have us confused with another place as what you are describing is not our B&B. The first red flag is that fact that you seem to have stayed at a place in Camp Verde. We are located in Cottonwood, NOT in Camp Verde!!!

Our B&B is clean, very clean, we know when guests are coming and we make people feel very comfortable and at home.

We have hot water and plenty of it available in all sinks in all rooms, furthermorem, we do not turn the water off at night!

I am sorry you had an unpleasant stay, but rest assured that you have us confused with another place. Please do come stay with us next time you are visiting the area.

Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great option in the Verde Valley! For our 5th Anniversary we decided to spend the weekend in the Verde Valley area to experience Arizona wine country as well as access up to Sedona and the natural beauty there. We wanted to be a bit more relaxed than at a hotel, and so we decided to stay at Desert Rose.

Pulling in, we were greeted promptly by Nathan, who helped us get our luggage into the house and oriented us to the place. The house is in a neighborhood but secluded enough that it felt safe. We've visited Cottonwood several times, so the little bit off the beaten track was nice, although you are still only 5 minutes from groceries, restaurants, and gas stations. The staff was very friendly, and the common spaces comfortable, with a couple of areas to relax if you wanted to. Our room was very nice, the best comfortable and sheets, pillows, and decor very fresh and clean. No problems sleeping here!

They had a few very friendly dogs on the premises, plus some other animals around in pens, etc. like a desert tortoise and some llamas that were fun to check out, but quiet and far enough away they were not bothersome. The dogs were very friendly and not a nuisance at all. They actually provided just a bit of security as any approaching vehicles at night were noticed. (They never woke us up though!)

There is a nice patio and yard that provided shade and relaxation on the side of the house, and the patio was great. We happened to be there during the Perseids meteor shower and hung out for an hour or so star gazing at the clear sky and counting meteors. A great spot and location...we will definitely keep it as a top place to stay in Cottonwood when we return again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

We are positively humbled when we get such a nice review by a trusted Tripadvisor "regular"! Thank you for taking the time to review us and mention our strengths.we do pride ourselves on how clean and well maintaind we keep the Desert Rose, we are thrilled that it shows and that you noticed that.

Not sure if you knew, but Yavapai County has a dark sky bylaw. (I.E. A home cannot have too many outdoor lights) This creates a dark sky which enables our guests to experience the best sky watching around when sitting on one of our different outdoor patios. Glad to hear that it coincided with the meteor shower! Lucky you!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had the room with the private bath. Both the bedroom and the bath were great size and very clean. Our hosts were very friendly, greeted us, showed us around, and made sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast table was beautifully set with china and silver. It was a continental breakfast and meant our wants perfectly. The second night we felt a little apprehensive concerning one of the dogs that was loose in the house. When we entered the sitting room, the dog began barking. We were not sure where he was, and even though we had been assured all the dogs were friendly, his bark made us feel other wise. After we entered and closed our bedroom door, we could tell the dog was outside the door and continued to bark. My husband automatically rechecked the door and locked it. We love dogs but we know from owning different breeds, that all people are not comfortable with all breeds. I really feel that when guests are on site, the dogs should be better contained.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Dinah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for having taken the time to write your review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast aside from the dog barking. I am happy to announce that we are under new managment and that there are NO MORE DOGS on the property. Just our friendly llamas and outdoor cats!

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had the room with a private bath, the room was beautiful and the bathroom was big with dual shower heads, jacuzzi, and two sinks. The house was very nice but the other houses in the area are not so good; when we pulled into the allotment we thought we were in the wrong section of town. The breakfast was good and somewhat continental; I think some people might expect a cooked breakfast, but we were satisfied with it. One bad point, there are 3-4 dogs on site and we think a couple were pit-bull or part pit-bull; we like dogs but were not to comfortable with them barking at us. We would give the B&B a 4.5 but the other houses and dogs drop it to a 3. The geographical location is very good as you can easily get to Sedona (17 miles), Jerome (12-15 miles), a couple wineries that are very close, old-town Cottonwood (4miles), and about 15 miles from the V-bar-V petroglyphs and Montezuma's Castle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raycap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Thank you for recognizing our very central location and like we enjoy saying, we are "15 minutes from everywhere!". All 4 wineries are within 10 minutes from the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast.

People when they drive to our B&B sometimes wonder about the neighborhood, but rest assured that it is a very safe area. Furthermore, we are on 1.5 acres which gives our guests plenty of space on our property for our guests to roam around. Our neighborhood is a true representation of what life is like in rural Arizona and we really enjoy it here being on a dead end street. (Very low trafic)

As advertized, yes our breakfast is a continental plus breakfast which is plentiful and includes: Activia yogurt, hot cereals, cold organic cereals, bread/toast, bagels, English muffins, organic jams, cream cheese, fresh fruits, juices, milk and fresh ground coffee. We also mention that again in all the confirmations that we send our guests to ensure guests know that prior to arriving at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast. In order to keep our room prices competitive, we have decided to stick with our formula until the economy improves. Then we may consider making some changes.

We are a pet friendly property and we also have 2 dogs of our own. None of them are pit bull or pit bull mix and they are very friendly. They have their own fenced in area where they typically reside when we have guests in house.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Cottonwood Arizona is the perfect location to serve as home base for vacationing in the Verde Valley and Sedona areas. Quick day trips include the Verde Canyon Railway, Jerome, Sedona, Oak Creek Canyon, Page Springs Winery, Flagstaff, Sunset Crater, and Walnut Canyon. You'll find lower prices in Oldtown Cottonwood (some fashion, rocks, artwork) better than in the tourist areas. A long day trip to the Grand Canyon is also possible.

Desert Rose B&B was fabulous for us.We stayed Sun-Thurs on a special (5 for 3) rate as described in an emailed Arizona tourist magazine We had the large room which was clean and neat. You have to adjust to the resident cats, dogs,children and llamas. It was more like being a guest in their home. The hosts were warm and friendly and very aware of our presence to shoo out the residents from the common areas when we were present. The pool had just been filled (June 1) but we weren't there to spend our time at the B&B - we were there to hike and enjoy natural surroundings that we don't have back in the Midwest. The first morning, our hostess set out a breakfast with OJ, milk, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads etc with an elaborate china and silver place settings....all we really wanted was some fresh fruit, yogurt and kashi cereal plus coffee. She even packed us a breakfast to take with us when we left at the crack of dawn for the Grand Canyon. Very nice. We ate supper each night in Oldtown Cottonwood at Nic's and the Tavern Grill. We also managed a late brunch at the Red Rooster Cafe on our way back to Phoenix. Good food. Happy service. Our king bed was comfy and we slept well.

The Desert Rose B&B is located central to many Arizona attractions and we found it perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The biggest room with ensuite bathroom is the best one, but get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vfinkenstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. Our location is very central to the whole area and yes, daytrips to the Grand Canyon or even shopping in Phoenix are very feasible as both are within a few hours at most! As for visiting local sites such as Jerome, Sedona, the wineries or tasting rooms, that can all be found within only 15 minutes!

We often do have specials and the best place to stay up to date on our specials is on our Facebook page.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again here soon!

Sebastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

So many businesses these days are corporate owned and all you can expect is the very same service no matter where you stay. But a better choice is a Bed and Breakfast owned by a family that has a true investment about return business. Such a place is Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast located in Cottonwood, Arizona. It is situated between the historical town of Jerome and beautiful Sedona. Cottonwood is in the Verde Valley and boasts gorgeous sunsets which can be viewed at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast. There is such a relaxing atmosphere and very “homey” feeling at this establishment. It is much more laid back and the grounds are amazing along with the owners. We were promptly greeted by the owners and shown everything on and around the property. On site are extravagant llamas and the owners even took time out of their busy day to walk us into the pen and let us play with and feed the llamas. Such an adventure I will never forget! Breakfast was full of conversation and I now even have Facebook friends from Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast. For the price you won’t find a better deal in the area. Try staying there and you won’t be disappointed. I can’t wait to return to Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast for a taste of their hospitality and accommodating service.

Sincerely,
Rhonda

Room Tip: Your needs and size of your group will determine what room you choose. They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda7308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review to share how enjoyable your stay with us at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast was! We are certainly NOT a big corporation, quite the opposite, we are a family owned and operated business who pride themselves on the high level of personal attention that we provide our guests, trying to make them feel as comfortable as possible.

It particualrly pleases us when guests recognize the fact that we always do all that we can to make sure our guests are very happy whislt at our B&B. Anytime that someone mentions that something is not to their liking when at our B&B, we take swift action and correct these small issues. (It does not happen alot but when it does, we fix it!)

We are also thrilled that you have made some friends during your stay with us. We have the best guests! (Yourselves included of course!)

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had an incredible stay at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast. Great experience and a good place to rest. Beautiful gardens and clean, nice looking interior. The rooms are wonderful and there are many added extras like complimentary coffee, hot chocolate, tea and fruit, as well as a good selection of dvd's, videos, music and there were ample towels and shampoo, conditioner, body washes and lotion to use in the bathroom. We had a very decent comfy bed and our own mini fridge and tv with dvd player. For those travelling with kids there are big gardens, llamas, a pool, game sets, inflatables and a kids playground set.We were well looked after and the staff are very hospitable and friendly. We were not disturbed by other guests as all the rooms are private enough. There is a waterfall feature and pond to relax by as well as a telescope to do star gazing with. Though there is much to do in the surrounding area, we were so relaxed that we hardly went out and just enjoyed the rest. Easy access to the Sedona, Jerome, Verde Canyon Railway and close enough to include a day trip to the Grand Canyon. We would definitely go again, what a wonderful place.

Room Tip: We had a private room on the lower level of the house, the luxury room. Very highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertRoseBnB, Owner at Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on here. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon at the Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottonwood hotels
1.4 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
302 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
Quality Inn - Cottonwood
#6 of 7 in Cottonwood
153 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Iron Horse Inn
The Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 7 in Cottonwood
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Cottonwood Inn
3.2 mi away
The Tavern Hotel
The Tavern Hotel
#2 of 7 in Cottonwood
323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Little Daisy Motel
Little Daisy Motel
#3 of 7 in Cottonwood
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4190 E Bridle Path Rd, Cottonwood, AZ 86326-5646
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range: $102 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottonwood (near Sedona) Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Arizona, your home away from home!The Desert Rose offers world class luxury and amenities at an affordable small town price. Our quaint desert setting will give you the most authentic Arizona experience. We are very centrally located, only 15 miles from Sedona, 10 miles from Jerome, 16 miles from Cliff Castle Casino and Montezuma's Castle, and no more than 10 miles from at least 4 wineries. The manor contains different size rooms to suit every travelers needs and budgets, as well as multiple living rooms to provide our guests with privacy if needed. Our expansive lush, green 1.5 acre gated grounds have lovely gardens, stone paths, a tranquil fountain and so much more. The perfect place to relax and unwind, or start your Arizona adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing