We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conchos the Best in Cottonwood, AZ”

Concho's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 103 Restaurants in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Conchos the Best in Cottonwood, AZ”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family had a late lunch here during the Christmas holidays. We all agreed that it was the best Mexican food any of us every had. Which is saying a lot for Southwestern residents. The service was nearly instantaneous. This restaurant was formerly in Old Town Cottonwood, and was always extremely good. The new location is as good or better. We had among other things an outstanding Queso dip, which was made from scratch, unlike the canned stuff other cafes have. It seemed that everything was fresh made. And all this with the friendliest wait staff you'll encounter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    71
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornville, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT authentic Mexican food; fast, friendly service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Friends and I have been going to Conchos for a few years now. Ana and Daniel treated us like family and remembered our names and even our favorite orders from the beginning. The menu is all authentic family recipes. I love the green chicken chimichanga (with extra sauce!) so much, I can hardly order anything else. Another favorite of mine are the various tamales, and sometimes if we are feeling less flush money-wise, we all split a dozen mixed tacos. Plenty of meat and quality, fresh ingredients.

One of my favorite parts about going to Conchos is when I order something different, and Ana makes an executive decision for me; smiling and with her accent, she'll say something like, "Okay, but I will bring you that one with the red sauce." I always say okay and have never been sorry!

The margaritas are scrumptious, and (whew), nice and strong. When we were there last night, the people behind us told us they thought the prickly pear margaritas were even better, so I will try one of those next time.

Note: Concho's just moved from Old Town to 206 South Main Street, between Mingus Ave and the 89A bypass.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ranks on the top of best Mexican restaurants in Arizona”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Hands down! One of the best Mexican restaurants we have tried since living in Arizona over the past few years. We have been to both locations. One thing that was nice was the outdoor seating. Even though we have only been there a handful of times the waiting staff knows us like family. They know we love the Cadillac margarita. By the way these aren't your ordinary marg. They have the best balance of flavor and aren't shy on tequila. The chips and salsa taste very fresh and spicy. We have tried various items on the menu and have loved them all. On our last trip the waitress even predicted what i would order. Beware if you get a combination you might leave stuffed! While partaking in the great drinks and food the staff are very attentive and helpful. If you have room left the desserts taste great. Nothing bad to say at all about this place. The whole experience from start to finish makes it worthwhile when we drive up from Mesa. We are looking forward to our next visit already!

Helpful?
Thank avriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Went to dinner here with my mom. Our waitress was outgoing, funny and very helpful. My mom couldn't figure out what to order and the waitress made a wonderful suggestion. The drinks were delicious. Sat out on the patio and spent the night eating delicious food and chatting with some locals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An update”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We continue to thoroughly enjoy the cuisine and dining experience at Concho's. We want to make sure persons wishing to return or try this restaurant for the first time, are aware that Concho's is currently in the process of relocating to a great new location. The new location is at 206 S. Main, in Cottonwood. They will be opening 11/07/2013. This new location will further enhance the already great dining experience! Karen and Rich Voss

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenKalama_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Concho's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Concho's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing