We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spot!”

Dead Horse Ranch State Park
Ranked #3 of 39 things to do in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic park that belies its ominous name and is best known for bird watching, camping, canoeing, hiking and horseback riding. Dead Horse Ranch State Park is located adjacent to and across the Verde River from the community of Cottonwood. It is centrally located near several major population centers such as Flagstaff, Phoenix, and Prescott. When using Dead Horse Ranch as a base, one has a variety of attractions to visit, including: Jerome State Historic Park, Fort Verde State Historic Park, Red Rock State Park, Slide Rock State Park, Tuzigoot National Monument, Montezuma Castle and Well National Monuments, Oak Creek Canyon, Prescott National Forest, Coconino National Forest, and the popular towns of Sedona and Jerome.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Safford, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Cabins were cozy and fun! Fishing in the lagoons - not so good ... but the Verde River was better. Nice basecamp for activities around Cottonwood - Jerome, Tuzigoot, etc.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    110
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“State Park visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Really cool park with river access. Lots to do...hiking, swimming, paddling, and more. Great place to bring the kids. And close to town so no long travel issues.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were surprised to find such a nice state park practically in the middle of Cottonwood. My husband and I camped there for two nights in our travel trailer and did a little biking and fishing and just enjoyed the area. There are three fishing lagoons and Verde River access. The campgrounds were decent but have little shade so we wouldn't go there in the heat of the summer. The camping fees seemed a little high ($25 or $30) but did include water, electricity, hot showers, and a dumping station. It was peaceful and just a nice place to get away and enjoy nature.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ECO1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dead Horse Ranch State Park Campground”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed one night at this campground for a rest stop while passing through the area during a 30 day RV trip. This campground is conveniently located to area attractions that we were interested in visiting: Jerome State Historic Park, Red Rock State Park, Sedona, and Slide Rock State Park. The check-in was easy by a friendly staff memeber. However, the spaces were close together and due to the holiday weekend the campground was crowded and privacy was limited. We did not venture out of our RV to use facilities or explore the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DawgHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nature at its finest...”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a State park with power & water only connections. There is a dump station at the park entrance that is FREE.

This is a huge park with several different areas each with lots of spaces. Being AZ there is little or no shade trees, mostly shrubbery! There are three different lakes 2 for fishing and one for the kids and canoeing. They are nice sized but not big. All roads are well maintained tarmac. There were lots of volunteer rangers, the check-in was easy and very friendly.

There are separate spaces for tent, trailer and RV. All spaces are long and very wide with lots of separation space, very private. Lots of space to hang out. Each space has a BBQ stand and fire pit so you can enjoy the beautiful evenings under the starry sky. RV spaces have 50 amp AC.

The weekend we stayed here they had there River Days on and had lots of things to do including free fishing, canoeing, live music, and lots of presentations. All for FREE including parking.

We traveled in a 36ft Motorhome towing our Miata.

Cost $20 per/night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SquireDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead Horse Ranch State Park also viewed

 

Been to Dead Horse Ranch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing