We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Restored Vintage Find...”

Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Cornville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Along an historic highway towards Wine Country you'll step back into how the west once was. There's nothing else like it as you dine in one of the most unique restaurants in Arizona! You'll be impressed with the rustic and authentic cowboy eatery. Enjoy fine steaks & seafood in the lush tree tops & large creek-side setting while watching the wildlife below. Eagles call this home, while the beavers build and the otters frolic. Find herons, wood ducks, turtles and others scouting out where they too find some of the best food in these here parts. Fine dining in a historic, but casual atmosphere. Join us for one of the best culinary experiences around. Freshly prepared and made to order Angus, Dry-Aged & organic grass-fed meats, homemade soups and desserts. Want the best; then come out West and see what all the locals are talking about. Full bar & fine local and international wines.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully Restored Vintage Find...”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Foodies, don't be swayed by the curb appeal of this 1950s "roadhouse" on Oak Creek. Not only are you treated to a warm vintage atmosphere (and a fantastic creek view) once inside, you will enjoy excellently crafted foods and fresh ingredients. I recommend anything with a roasted pepper, and their house catsup is delicious on either kind of fry.

They also have two local beers on tap. Both refreshing after some good hiking and sightseeing. Definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hercules9, Owner at Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Yes we do have new local beers, one of which is a gold metal winner and becoming very popular just after a couple weeks. Of interesting note, we just had a large dedication party with over 20 Page family members coming from all over to be an important part of the "Historical Sign" ceremony. Not only "Vintage", but now officially a historical land mark and building. The new sign is nicely displayed to the left of our main entrance. We are proud to be a part of preserving this great location...........thank you for your visit and review............Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    77
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic Drive with a Fantastic Stop”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a treat to have stopped and had a meal at this AWESOME place. The building, service and food far exceeded expectations. Will return and anyone would enjoy pulling off the road for the pampering you receive with a great view of Oak Creek! We will return and keep up the great service Greg & Dawn!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hercules9, Owner at Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
I love Cave Creek; do you have a creek? I know we do; a big one!! Exceeding one's expectations is absolutely the main goal. Thank you for saying so! Most are surprised to find this wonder place and we hope to see you again soon when it heats up in Cave Creek..........Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“On a road less travelled...and worth the drive”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

UTC was recommended to us by a local and we are very happy we followed his suggestion. We dined on a Saturday evening and this was a great alternative to the congestion of downtown Sedona. The location is very scenic, right on the creek. A nice menu with interesting options. The trout dinner was excellent! Prepared perfectly and presentation was done with flare. The UTC burger was unique and very satisfying. Both of us were very pleased and quite full, but we managed to share and enjoy a delicious creme brulee. A great choice also! Definitely recommend a drive down Page Springs Rd. in Cornville, off of 89!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowbirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hercules9, Owner at Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking his recommendation. We try to offer a wide range of food and dining experiences. You can pay as little as $9 for a sandwich or upwards of $29 for one of the best steaks in the Verde Valley. So there's a little for everyone. The 12-15 minute trip from Sedona is well worth it and I drive it everyday and enjoy the lovely scenery. We have most everyone eating our unique & house-made desserts too. We now have a flourless/gluten free chocolate cake served with a raspberry sauce......becoming a big hit that you must try next time you're in........much appreciated..........Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
300 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great View and Location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This rating is average because of the food. The view and location is real nice. I ordered a cheeseburger with fries. I told them I wanted it pink in the middle. Medium. After two tries, they still didn't get it right. Then I realized why. The hamburger was frozen. They had to cook it more to thaw it out. On the third try, I gave up and just ate it. This restaurant is located just outside of Sedona Arizona on a river. We had a table on the river. No outside seating. It cost us $28 for two people. My partner's grilled chicken sandwich was ok.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie03045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hercules9, Owner at Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Charlie, I'm sorry about your burger. As a general practice we do not grill our burgers frozen. It is very possible though that because we had an exceptionally busy March and nearly up by 40% that we ran out of defrosted burgers due to the high volume. Most think that our burgers and food is some of the best in the Valley and I can assure you, this was an exception. Please visit again and I think you'll agree. Our best...........Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville Arizona
1 review
“Trout”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding....fresh from Idaho with a side of herbal mashed potatoes and gravy. The owners Dawn and Greg are hands on and very interactive with patrons. I dined alone at the bar.,Shannon was very attentive. The atmosphere is perfect.....FIVE STARS!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hercules9, Owner at Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Oh, the Trout is my very favorite entrees too!~ Thanks so much for your review! We hope to see you again soon~ Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Up The Creek Bistro Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing