We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who'd have guess?”
Review of Nichols West

Nichols West
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Congress
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant located on Highway 71 in Congress AZ. Inside and patio dining. Full Bar. Breakfast Lunch & Dinner.Breakfast items include: Eggs Benedict Traditional, Crab Cakes, Smoked Salmon, Shrimp & Avocado. Breakfast Quesadillas and Burritos plus regular fare. Lunch & Dinner includes steamed mussels, fried oysters, rack of lamb, boulle bases, pastas, steaks, burgers, quesadillas and much more. Salads : Beet & Avacado, Caesear, Winter Salad, hearts of Romaine.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who'd have guess?”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

It's hard to believe that this little crossroads has such a high quality restaurant until you read the "credits" from diners on the wall as you enter. Of course, the comments are from the diners from their other restaurant in the Hamptons called ...you guessed it Nichols East. They don't however own that one since they moved to Congress and opened this little one. In the winter you need a reservation as it is packed all season and it is a very small place. The menu is rather small but well planned with high quality and variety as the mainstays. I love Salmon and nowhere in this area have I been able to find it prepared properly... except here. They offer Blackened, grilled, or poached and any choice is a good one. The caesar salad is also very good. The steaks are good but I have better elsewhere but their pasta and dinner salad entrees and dinner omelet are wonderful. BUT their piece de resistance is their desserts... all homemade. If you love chocolate you MUST have the brownie in a bag... or if you need to share try the ice cream sandwich trio, I guarantee you will NOT share... of course there are other yummies but you have to try this place.. I;m drooling writing this. Try this place, you like it!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank basketgal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    27
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent Food...”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Went in April and met family there. Good vibes, lots of locals of all types. Place was clean and service was good. Although when a member of the party asked what type of crab was in the crab cakes she answered "Crab" with a lost look. He then chuckled and mentioned there are lots of different types of crab so she went and asked the owner who i heard say" it doesnt really matter, tell them asain crab". Pretty funny I thought as i grew up/live in the northwest and there is a huge difference in taste. Anyway, the crab cakes were good, not excellent. The Food in general was very good, just not as good as we expected. All in all it was a great find in congress and we would definetly go again next time we visit grandma...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandDaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
“Did we go to the wrong restaurant?”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

After three rave reviews about the wonders of the food at Nicols West, we traveled down the highway only to find some of the worst food we have ever had! My spouse's Cuban sandwich was made with pork loin, not seasoned, and lunch meat quality ham. There were no spices added and was totally bland and tasteless. He further questioned the freshness of the meat used. I lunched on a tomatoe avacado and mozarella sandwich. Perhaps I selec ted the wrong bread type but my french roll was store bought burned and greasy. The cheese was good but again there was no flavor to the sandwich. There were an abundance of french fries. The meal was a total disappointment and we will never be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congress, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Welcome to the greasy spoon!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Breakfast of omelette and homefries is usually an order that no one can mess up. Homefries were the most greasy I have ever had -- they could have saturated a few paper towels with the amount of oil on the plate. Even the omelette was very greasy. Restaurant was clean enough. Service ok. Would definitely not race back for breakfast!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goaway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“exceptional food!”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

If you don't live in Congress, AZ, it is still worth the drive. We have eaten there many times and have never had anything but an excellent experience. Couple the great food with the very nice host-owners and you have a winning combination.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AZOR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nichols West also viewed

 
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 

Been to Nichols West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing