We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yesterday's”

Yesterdays Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Chloride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yesterday's”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We traveled from Harrah's Laughlin to this restaurant because we read how great it was online. We got lost on the way here because our GPS could not find it. It was a little disappointing when we got there. It's just an average place with average food. It was very crowded but we got there before the lunch crowd. The people were very nice and friendly but service was very slow. Outside the restaurant people selling household stuff, most of which is garage-sale type articles and most over-priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant and awesome Double Diamond Band!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was incredible memories about restaurant and especially Double Diamond Band played for us! Guys I keep listening and enjoying your amazing cd's and hope to see you again somedays! Food was perfect too and everything was just unforgettable! Thank you!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nataly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Got to keep it in perspective.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

First of all, Chloride really is in the middle of nowhere; a good hours drive, maybe a bit more, from the Hoover Dam, so this is not the kind of place to go on a whim. We had set off early from Henderson and gone via the Lake Mead National Park to reach the Hoover Dam. We had visited before but before the new bridge had opened, so we wanted to get to see it from a new angle, but didn't intend to go inside. We arrived early, around 9am, before the crowds and so we were away by mid/late morning.

I had read reviews of several ghost towns and as Chloride was in the general area, we thought we would take the trip. The 93 is a decent road with some spectacular scenery, which by itself made it worthwhile. Now, when you are taking in the views and cruising down some highway, you need to have some point of destination, otherwise you run the risk of heading on down to Mexico and Chloride is perfectly located for this.

It is well signposted and as we turned left off the highway, we saw a sign for Digger Dave's enticing us into town. It's just a few minutes drive off the main road and about 100 years into the past. It was a ghost town with nobody around, which included Digger Dave, who was closed on Mondays! We had a bit of a walk around, took a few photographs and then stumbled across Yesterdays.

It was very bright outside and so it took a few moments for your eyes to adjust to the inside. As soon as we walked in we were met with a cheery 'Hello' and as our eyes adjusted we saw there was just one other couple eating with what I took to be a couple of locals drinking at the bar. It was around noon (should that be high noon?) and the restaurants sole server(and greeter) came over with menus. The place is quite large with a small stage set up in one corner. I also noticed a large screen for the kareoke that another reviewer had mentioned, so I assume this still goes on. There is some great artwork around the walls but my eyes were drawn to to candelabra hanging down from the high ceiling. Some of the tables had plastic table cloths, others were bare formica. It sort of felt in keeping with what a ghost town should be.

We ordered diet cokes whilst we checked out the menu. It seemed quite extensive, with a range of appetisers, salads, sandwiches, burgers and steak. We ordered a BLT sandwich and a salmon salad. The BLT got a thumbs up from my other half whilst the salmon was thick and tasty (the salad was mostly lettuce, some tomato slices and a bit of grated cheese and croutons and just 'ok'). I can't remember how much lunch cost - it wasn't expensive. Service was very attentive and friendly. Whilst we were in a few more people turned up to eat.

I would not recommend anyone take a drive down to Yesterdays just for the food, (although, the drunken entertainer with the rubber chicken that another reviewer mentioned might be a draw) but if you have made a trip to take in the scenery and visit a little ghost town, be assured you have somewhere to eat on your visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gadgeteer1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder city, nv
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good place for a meal”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Realize this is a semi-ghost town without large crowds to justify hiring much help. When I ate lunch here, there were about 3 tables occupied and shortly after being seated, a group of around 8 entered and soon another 2 couples. The one waitress (originally from Staten Island)was swamped but was cheerful and worked efficiently. Her husband from Montana cooked as fast as he could. Don't be in a hurry. Look at the great art on the walls purchased when one of the Las Vegas casinos sold off all their interior (Desert Inn?). Also, there is an attached art gallery of Roy Purcell paintings that should not be missed. Food good just don't expect gourmet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxSchnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Desert Secret”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

After moving here to golden valley, we explored the area and beyond and came across Yesterdays after looking around the quaint and very interesting town of Chloride. Very rich in history I might add. The first time we ate at Yesterdays was a shocked. As soon as we walked in.....the owner John, yelled out "Hello young ladies.......". We felt wecome immediately. After ordering breakfast, john came over and talked with us .....making us laugh. Breakfast came and the portions were HUGE!!!!! For the price....it was well worth it. We learned we could order one meal and share it 3 ways when visiting again. Great atmosphere, service......and of course, the food. I highly recommend you stop by. Prices can't be beat. Enjoy!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reeniekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yesterdays Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yesterdays Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing