We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“KONA Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Grill

Kona Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 619 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“KONA Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very pleasant atmosphere and a great staff. They tried hard to accommodate our party as quickly as possible.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found Kona Grill online while looking for a restaurant close to where we were staying on our trip to the outskirts of Phoenix. The menu looked really good, so we decided to try it. We went hunting for it, using our GPS and almost gave up because the address didn't indicate that it's actually all the way at one end of the Fashion Mall called Chandler Village, but we finally found it. So glad! It was awesome!! The decor is beautiful...Asian-style, sleek, clean lines. They have two bars, a regular one and a sushi bar, but they serve anything on the menus at either bar, so we sat at the sushi bar. We usually eat at the bar, because you get great service there, along with interesting conversation. That certainly happened here. Our waiter, Gabriel, was super, and one of the sushi chefs, Suki-san, gave my husband a great opportunity to practice his Japanese.

As far as the food...it was awesome! We shared a yellowtail sashimi with jalapeño and cilantro, which was so interesting and yummy. Then we shared the shrimp and penne with lemon dish that was so good that we sopped up all of the sauce after we finished the food.

They also had at the table, when you sat down, these little white things that looked like giant aspirins. Gabriel came with a tea pot of hot water and poured the water on them and they puffed up onto cheesecloth hand wipes...vey cool!

The service, attention to the customer, and the food were flawless! Wish they were closer to home in NJ!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

new to this area and found a great mall but did not want courtyard cuisine...lucky for us there was the KONA Grill. Excellent Sushi, and decent selections for other fare. Had great service, one of the sushi dishes did come out a little late but still very good. will definetly go back. a little on pricey side but everything in this area is...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced pick up joint”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Every time I have gone here I have thought the food was marginal and extremely pricey, plus it is a total meat market. I think people just go there to drink and be seen.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcaswell1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food was good at the Kona grill, but I wasn't overly impressed. I probably would not return to this location because of the poor value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkGT02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Grill also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Kona Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing