We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Chino Bandito - CLOSED

Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Way back in 1999 while visiting friends in Phoenix I was treated to some great food that was a strange blend of flavors and it stuck with me, that is I never forgot the flavors and how great they worked together. I never could remember the name of the place and have not been back to Phoenix until recently. My wife and I just moved to Phoenix and I instantly remembered those great flavors I told my wife about this great place and that we must find it. So the quest began...I performed a little sleuth work and theorized that this place must be in close proximity to my friends old house. I found the lost yummys at Chino Bandito and couldn't be happier. Pay no mind to the negative reviews and get over there for some good grub.
We enjoyed the Jerk chicken with Black Beans and Jerk Fried Rice. Let me tell ya it was just like 1999 all over again! We loved it and will be back now that we live close by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Novel Idea”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I ate here with a friend of mine who lives in the area, but hadn't heard of the place. It's a bit off the highway, so it wasn't getting the kind of traffic I feel they deserve. When I was there, the food was great. Who'd have thought to cook chinese dishes and put them in a burrito sized tortilla? It can be very confusing to order the first time you visit, but the staff was very helpful. Everything was great, keep up the good work.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slasich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So unbelievably good!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The food is so incredible here! My mouth is watering as I write this review thinking about all the tasty goodness that Chino Bandido serves up. Favorite is the jade red chicken followed by the emerald chicken. MMMmmmm good! Their prices are reasonable and portions large.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LauraG8019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unappealing”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This restaurant is a combination of Mexican meets Chinese and has been featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. Our friend insisted we eat here for lunch yesterday. All day they raved about how excellent it is and how they could not wait for us to try it. I had my doubts as it did not sound appealing to me, but thought "give it a whirl." Yeah, not for me. Ordering was confusing and the server wasn't helpful in that respect. My combination was a jerk chicken burrito and a spicy sweet and sour chicken burrito with refried beans and white rice. The burritos are meat only in a burrito shell. My rice was very dry and almost crunchy. The beans were pasty, dry and without much flavor. With so many wonderful restaurants to choose from, my advice is to avoid TV Food Network hype and go somewhere worth plunking down your hard earned money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always a good stop”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I love Chino Bandito. Almost always go there while in Phoenix. I particularly enjoy the jade red chicken in a quesadilla. And who doesn't love snicker doodles with dinner? The ones at Chinos are delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalley642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Bandito also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing