We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Food...Not So Great Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 638 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $17 - $43
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 101 Freeway Exit
Phoenix
Level Contributor
204 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Food...Not So Great Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Took my husband here for his birthday celebration. We got there when they opened only to find out there was a 45 minute wait for the hibachi tables so we opted to sit in the bar area at one of the small tables. We could get the same menu but without the "entertainment". It was very hot in the bar area and we sat there for awhile before the server came over. She took our order but forgot the extra salad dressing my husband requested so we had to remind her. Our dinner was good. My husband had the steak and lobster and I had the steak and shrimp. The steak was alittle fatty but all in all it was good. Dinner came with ice cream and that was an extra treat. All in all, it was a nice dinner, but we felt the waitress could have been alittle more attentive. Do go but call ahead to request the hibachi tables and be entertained if you have never had the experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place To Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I went here with a friend during the lunch hours (it's half the price) I HIGHLY recommend getting a table where they cook the food in front of you. You will have the best time. They do tricks with the food and it's really enjoyable!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We love coming here because of the great atmosphere they provide. Everyone in our family gets a birthday certificate during the month of their birthday for 30.00 off your dinner. My husband and I sneak off every once in awhile too by ourselves for one of their monthly specials. Great place to go with a group of friends. I've never been disappointed with any meal I've chosen. Some chefs are more skilled and more entertaining than others but we always have a good time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacki75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for a group!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had a group dinner here and it was fun and entertaining - and talk about fresh! Our server did the regular show, and cooked our dinner in front of us. We were served soup right away and salad shortly after. We ordered from the menu, which includes also a shrimp appetizer...so if you are highly allergic to shell-fish I would be very careful here.

I enjoyed the chicken and steak combination, which also came with steamed rice and a scoop of ice cream. It costs an additional $3.50 or so to upgrade to fried rice, which certainly looked more appetizing but I thought it was a bit much to charge.

The food is served freshly off the grill, so it is piping hot and fresh at the table. All in all, it was a great night.

Also - if you join the e-club, you get a certificate to use during the month of your birthday.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADavis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun time over a hot grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We went to an early dinner and used a $30.00 e-mail coupon my wife received for her
birthday. If you fill out a card when you visit the restaurant you will receive a $30.00 coupon to use in your birthday month........Pretty good deal. Food and table entertainment is a good as usual. Service was just great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank azjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing