We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“BIG DISAPPOINTMENT” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 641 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Fleming's Chandler, AZ is an ongoing celebration of exceptional steak and wine. We are located in Chandler next to Ahwatukee, not far from Tempe, Gilbert, and Phoenix.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BIG DISAPPOINTMENT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My Daughters made reservations for a party of four. I chose lobster for my main dish; my wife and daughters chose steak. The lobster was mushy and the steaks were stringy and tough. The server did not charge us for the lobster and cooked us one lobster to replace the two bad ones. I did eat one of the original lobsters and I paid for it all night. We Paid a lot of money for just plain bad food. NEVER AGAIN

KenBo

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    57
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Big Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

50th Wedding Anniversary party of around 40 people. Hors d'oeuvers were outstanding. Had a choice of 3 entrees, chose the filet, was done to perfection. The cheesy potatos where superb as were the green beans. Wine selection is extremely good. Wait staff was very attentive. If any criticism it would be the time between taking orders and food being served, but the wait was well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“over rated , over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

although the food was decent, the service was subst was substandard , both were not up to standard of the prices, give the Long Horn accross the street a try instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank damargin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's Flemming's, need I say more. Brought some customers here for a post meeting dinner and Brian, our waiter, was fabulous. Kept all orders perfectly matched and was always attentive. Multiple New York Strips were cooked to perfection. I ordered mine smothered in blue cheese. Wow! So perfectly medium rare and the cheese and juices still make my mouth water.

In my opinion, the best chain chop house in the country.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeP71688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2 major misses by Flemings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

So, quoting from their menu and website - Flemings serve “the finest USDA Prime beef: corn fed…” – and that’s exactly the problem I have with their offering.

Corn fed USDA prime beef is no longer a premium product worthy of a “prime” steakhouse – why do you think Wholefoods is making a fortune selling grass fed beef and at times they are even out of stock?

Here is the key reason Flemings should at least offer the grass fed option (and I would happily pay more for it) - Customers are becoming educated: people know that Corn fed USDA prime beef is a product that contains artificial growth hormones and antibiotics and rich in Omega 6 (instead of Omega 3 like grass fed cows); additionally grass fed actually tastes better too!

The second miss is that they offer no bison or venison on their menu – com’on guys, where is your variety?

Apart from the major holes in their key offering Flemings is a fine establishment, much like a great looking sports car with a small motor! Great ambience, wine selection, top notch, attentive service and delicious side dishes. I selected the lamb for obvious reasons and it was great and their fish special sounded wonderful too.

I go there because my clients like it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvdawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing